Sunday Blessings – Blessed with a Powerful Spirit

I wouldn’t label myself as a “timid” person, but I am not the most outgoing, courageous or bold person by any means. In my younger school days, I was always a quiet one. I liked following rules, keeping to myself, and focusing on what I was supposed to do. I usually kept a small group of close girlfriends, but mostly spent a lot of time with my family – immediate family, as well as my 30+ cousins who pretty much all lived in the same city. 
As I’ve grown older, moved far away from home for college and now have a few years of real-world experience under my belt, I know I’ve gained a lot of self-confidence and comfort in my own skin. Not that I didn’t have that before, but I’ve come out of my shell as I’ve grown up and consider myself much more outgoing than I used to be. 
I contribute a lot of this to my closer walk with God in recent years and finding pure joy in living with His presence every single day. How can not have a smile on your face and want to spread the love?! Just a simple, “hello” to someone passing by, or making a point to strike up little conversations with the grocery store cashier, or even a few extra minutes sharing stories with co-workers can go a long way. 
In this verse from 2 Timothy, I don’t think he’s referring to “timid” in terms of how quiet or outgoing you are in school, work or other social situations. I think he’s referring to our relationship with God and how we approach it. We shouldn’t hold back when it comes to God and doing his work on earth. We shouldn’t be afraid to talk to him, tell him our thoughts, wants and hopes for our lives. He is there to listen to every word and help us get through this thing called life! 
He’s blessed us with a spirit of POWER, LOVE and SELF-DISCIPLINE. We have the power to make a difference in the world, no matter how big or little it seems at the beginning. We have the capability to love one another and show others how God loves us too. And, we have been given self-discipline to strengthen/better ourselves every day, one step at a time.
The verse is a great reminder to me of my ability to have a positive impact on those around me. While I may like to keep quiet sometimes, by spirit does not have to be. My sprit is bold and powerful. Who knows…maybe the random “hello” or “have a great day!” will put a smile on a stranger’s face. And maybe taking an extra minute to pick up a piece of trash in a parking lot will encourage someone else watching to do the same. It’s these small acts of kindness that can add up over time into a real, noticeable difference in the world. 
Leave a Reply

