July Blog-A-Day #11: Granola Cookie Wedges

IMG_8408

I am breaking the standard blog-a-day list of prompts I started with in order to feature this recipe. I don’t anyone will object to that, right? I’m still blogging so it still counts.

I was craving a snack and it wasn’t frozen yogurt. Weird.

I scrolled through my Pinterest boards, and rummaged through my fridge and cabinets. I wanted something with texture. I wanted something with chocolate. Most importantly, I wanted something that wouldn’t take much effort and that would come together quickly.

IMG_8387

Ding, ding, ding. We have a winner!

If anything has ever ‘hit the spot,’ this was it.

IMG_8365
In terms of size, the amount this recipe makes falls between my Instant Oatmeal Cookie for One and a normal batch of cookies (like these Cinnamon Oatmeal Raisin Cookies). AKA, the perfect amount for when you have to spend a couple of days as a single girl. A little for a snack here, a little for dessert there, and a little for breakfast the next day. And there won’t be anyone standing in your way. 
IMG_8399
Switching gears now to a completely unrelated note…I’m watching Katy Perry: Part of Me on Netflix. Have you seen it? Oh em geee, I’m loving it. I wouldn’t say I’m a huge fan of hers, but I do enjoy most of her songs and usually like seeing behind the scenes stuff with celebrities (at least celebrities I’m half interested in). She’s obviously got much different taste and style than I do, but she’s down to earth (okay, maybe that’s not the best way to put it), has maintained close relationships with her family, and has such a positive attitude. 
Sorry for being so random. But I’m not sorry for this. Go make it!
IMG_8378

Granola Cookie Wedges
(Adapted from Yummy. Healthy. Easy.)

Makes 6-8 servings

Ingredients: 
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 large egg white
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup pecan halves, chopped
2 heaping tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips (it doesn’t hurt to add an extra tablespoon though!)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 8 or 9-inch round cake pan with non-stick spray and set aside.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine brown sugar, oil, butter, vanilla, salt, baking soda and egg white. Whisk well.
3. In the same bowl, add flour and oats. Stir to combine. Fold in pecans and chocolate chips until evenly distributed.
4. Pour dough into cake pan and spread evenly with a spatula. Press down so batter fills the entire pan.
5. Bake for 12-13 minutes. Cookie will be raised and dark golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool about 5-10 minutes. Slice into wedges and serve.

Leave a Reply

