July Blog-A-Day #10: Most Embarrassing Moment

Oh boy do I have a good one for you today. I know the other day I said I would start focusing my posts more on food again, but this one is too good to pass up.

Day 10: Most embarrassing moment. Spill.

Let me take you back to my sophomore year in college.

Public speaking class.

Get where I’m going with this?

Before I go any further, I must also first tell you that I typically don’t get super nervous about speaking in front of people. It’s not my favorite thing by any means, but I can keep my nerves in check.

So, I was giving my second presentation of the year, about five or six minutes into it. Things were going well and I was about to wrap it up, when all of a sudden something hit me. I couldn’t even hardly hear myself speaking and my vision went blurry. I tried to keep going for a minute, but realized the feeling wasn’t going to stop. I had felt this feeling before. I was going to faint. So, I turned to my professor and told her I needed to sit down. I took a step forward and next thing I know, I’m waking up on the floor of the classroom with about half of my classmates standing around me.

Long story (kind of) short, I was fine. I spent the rest of the day resting and met with a doctor on campus who really didn’t have much to say besides I should rest some more and make sure I was hydrated. Then I met with some doctors back in Columbus while I was home for Christmas break, who told me they see fainting spells like this often in tall, slender females through their teen years. They said girls usually grow out of it and there was nothing to worry about as long as I was smart and noticed when it was about to happen so I could sit down.

Here I am, about five years later, and I haven’t fainted since. I have had a few times where I felt light-headed, but nothing too serious.

So that’s my embarrassing moment. Sure, it was a little scary too, but I will forever be “that girl” who faints giving a presentation in front of her whole class.

Leave a Reply

