Sunday Blessings – Contentment.

photo 2 (11)

If that’s not the face of contentment, I don’t know what is.

I’ve been dealing with some internal struggles recently, like questioning where God wants me to be in life and how I can be a better person. How can I be more generous with my time and money? How can I make a real impact on my community and the world?

These are really big questions and a little overwhelming. I know it’s normal to go through phases of feeling unsure of my purpose in life,

I am so blessed for the opportunities God has given to me in the last several months to grow closer to Him. Greg and I officially joined our church last November. We started attending a Bible study with new friends and I’ve been invited to be a part of a ministry team planning committee at our church.

Even with activities, I find myself aching for more. Or, maybe it’s because of these activities, I find myself aching for more.

In our Bible study, we recently talked about being content – not always looking for the next best thing, comparing ourselves to others, or thinking about what we don’t have. It didn’t hit me right away, but now I see how that concept applies to my desires for a purposeful life as well.

I am exactly where God wants me to be. Sometimes I may feel like I’m not living out a purposeful life, but as long as I have faith, I have to believe that God has me doing what I’m meant to be doing. Everything happens in His time, not ours. I will continue to pray that God will present me with more opportunities to make a difference.

While I can work on being content, I know I can’t let myself get too comfortable. Searching for new ways to generously spend my resources isn’t going to be easy and I may not always feel like doing certain things. I think the key is to find a balance between being content, while also continually striving to be more like Christ every day.

Leave a Reply

