Tempeh Zucchini Patties

IMG_7579
You saw all the food I ate on our honeymoon, right? After a week of enjoying eating out for just about every meal, combined with almost zero exercise, I’m refocusing on balanced eating and routine morning workouts. 
It hasn’t been easy though. My body still wants to sleep in and my stomach still wants to be filled with comfort foods like pancakes, pizza and ice cream a little too often. I’m slowly transitioning back to my normal ways, but embracing more of a carefree attitude. Not carefree as in giving into every temptation and not thinking about what I eat, but more like not obsessing about every calorie. I know what a balanced diet looks like and I really do enjoy centering my meals around veggies, fruits and whole grains. I don’t want or need to count calories (as I have been doing for a long time now) to determine every meal or snack. It’s more of an intuitive eating approach. I’m okay with eating more of the right foods as long as I keep my sweet tooth in check when it comes to desserts. Easier said than done
IMG_7589
Anyyyyyway. As delicious as pancakes and pizza and ice cream are, it’s hard to beat a meal that’s delicious and healthy at the same time. Like these Tempeh Zucchini Patties for example 😉 Topped with guacamole, you’ve got yourself one nutritious meal. 
IMG_7584

I haven’t cooked with tempeh too much, besides chili and enchiladas, so this was mostly an experiment. I’m thankful for the successful outcome, because my lack of kitchen time recently is causing this blog to suffer. I was just talking to my friend Hannah the other day about our occasional blog guilt when we worry about not posting enough. All it takes is a reminder to myself not to get caught up in the comparison trap and I instantly feel better. There will always be bloggers who post more, but there are certainly bloggers who post less. In the end, I’m blogging because I enjoy it, no matter how much or little I write.

There is enough unintentional comparison in the real world that we don’t need to bring it to the blog world too. Wait…blogging isn’t the real world? Now I’m just being crazy. Too much coffee this morning. Sorry. Am I even making sense anymore? Probably not.  

IMG_7582

Tempeh Zucchini Patties

Makes 8 small patties

Ingredients:
1-8 ounce package tempeh
1/4 yellow onion, chopped
1/2 large zucchini, shredded
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup breadcrumbs
1 large egg

Directions:
1. Set frying pan on stove-top over medium heat. Add olive oil. When hot, crumble the tempeh into the pan and cook until golden brown, about 4-5 minutes. Pour tempeh into a medium bowl. Add onion, zucchini, and spices. Stir well to combine.
2. In a small bowl, whisk breadcrumbs and egg. Add to tempeh mixture and mix until all ingredients are evenly distributed. Divide mixture into evenly-sized patties.
3. Reheat the frying pan to medium heat. When hot, add patties and let cook about 3-4 minutes on one side. Flip patties and cook another 2-3 minutes until golden brown. Top with fresh guacamole.

Serving suggestions:
-Over a bed of greens like spinach or spring mix.
-On a toasted English muffin

Leave a Reply

