Tempeh and Cheese Enchiladas

IMG_6320
Two weekends ago, Greg and I went to New Orleans for our good friends’ wedding. We had an awesome time celebrating – Congrats Lauren and Sam!! Sorry I’m a little late with the shout out 😉
I managed to fit in just about all of the different traditional Creole cuisine like crawfish etouffee, jambalaya, pralines and beignets. Oh yeah, and some king cake!
IMG_6317
Last week I felt like I was playing catch-up in all areas of my life, but I feel much better now that I’m back in the swing of things. Eating well, exercising, spending quality time with Greg and Zoey, planning dates with my girlfriends and not to mention feeling a surge of blogging energy! I haven’t been able to keep to a set schedule for more than two consecutive days since before the holidays so I’m looking forward to buckling down because in less than four months I’ll be getting married myself! The craziness is only going to get crazier.
Cheesy enchiladas are not necessarily helping my future wedding bod, but they’re not too harmful either. These make a great “fake-out” indulgent meal without actually indulging. It’s a comfort food you can feel good about and still not feel guilty eating dessert afterwards (as if we ever feel guilty eating dessert around here).
IMG_6316
I went through few different stages throughout cooking this meal. I want to make sure you know how I felt so you don’t worry if the same thing happens to you…specifically referring to #2:
1. {The thought enters my mind.} Ohhh. Tempeh enchiladas with sauce and cheese?? That sounds really good. 
2. {I add the enchilada sauce and cheese to the tempeh as it’s cooking and begin to stir.} Uh oh. What am I doing? This does not look appetizing. But I’m so hungry and I just want to eatttt. Please, oh please taste better than you look, Ugly Mush Concoction. 
3. {I poke a fork into the mixture for a tiny taste.} Okay so all might not be lost. I think this actually might turn out pretty well.
4.{The enchiladas are plated, photographed and demolished.} Yup. Uh-huh. That was good. Really good. A vegetarian meal Greg liked too? Success!

Moral of the story? Don’t let the looks of the tempeh mixture deceive you. I’m warning you it’s not the prettiest thing, but once it’s wrapped inside the tortillas you won’t even remember how weird it once looked. All you’ll be thinking is how good it tastes on your tongue. 

IMG_6309
If I haven’t scared you off by this point, here’s the recipe!
Tempeh and Cheese Enchiladas 

Makes 4 medium enchiladas 
Ingredients:
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1-8ounce package tempeh, crumbled (easiest way to do this is in a food processor)
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 cup canned enchilada sauce, divided
1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese, divided
4 tortillas (I used whole wheat) 
1/3 of a whole green bell pepper, sliced
1/3 of a whole yellow onion, sliced
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a square cooking pan with nonstick spray and set aside.
2. Place olive oil in a large skillet on the stove top and turn to medium heat. Once hot, add crumbled tempeh and cook through while stirring constantly, about 5-7 minutes. Tempeh will become golden brown. Add chili powder, cayenne pepper, pepper, and garlic salt to the pan and stir. Add about 1/3 cup of the enchilada sauce and about 1/4 cup of the shredded cheese. Stir well to evenly distribute all ingredients.
3. Lay out the tortillas in the baking pan. Use a spoon or spatula to place a quarter of the tempeh mixture into each tortilla and roll tightly. Top each with remaining enchilada sauce and cheese. Then top with peppers and onions.
4. Bake 12-15 minutes or until cheese is sizzling and tortillas are golden brown. Remove from oven and let sit about 5-10 minutes to cool before serving.
8 thoughts on “Tempeh and Cheese Enchiladas

  1. hahah- glad it was a success. Love your thoughts tudinr the process. I have tried to like tempeh…the texture just makes my tummy flip a bit. The enchiladas look just perfect though. Love the veggies on top.

    Like

Leave a Reply

