Apple Butterscotch Muffins

Welcome to 2013! I hope you all had a fantastic New Year celebration. I kept things super low-key on New Year’s Eve by staying home and making dinner for my sister and me. We watched a movie then turned on Ryan Seacrest to watch the ball drop. A small glass of champagne later, I was passed out. 
It’s been an amazing holiday break from work and although it pains me a little to go back to the office this morning, I am super excited to get back on track with a regular schedule. Not to mention this is the year of my WEDDING!!!! Lots of good things to come 🙂

I’m not one for making New Year resolutions. Instead, I like to continue to simply do the best I can each day, taking one day at a time. Sure, things (aka eating and exercise habits) get a little out of control over the holidays and it feels good to restart, but breaks from a more healthful routine are all part of it.
I know this isn’t the first day of the new year, but this is my first post. For that, I bring you my favorite muffin recipe to kick 2013 off the right way – a sweet muffin filled with some healthful fruit!

Salt and pepper. Bread and butter. Milk and cookies. 
Apples and butterscotch. 
It’s not a cupcake or made with chocolate, but something about butterscotch and apples just works

Enjoy!

Apple Cinnamon Butterscotch Muffins
(Adapted from Annie’s Eats)

Makes 1 dozen muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons plain or vanilla Greek yogurt
1/3 cup applesauce
1 egg
1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1/2 cup butterscotch chips
1/2 cup chopped apples

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Fill cupcake tin with paper liners and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, add flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and oats. Whisk to combine.
3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add butter and sugar and blend until creamy. Beat in yogurt, applesauce, eggs and vanilla until well incorporated. While continually beating on low speed, add the dry ingredients to the mixture, alternating with the milk. Fold in the butterscotch chips and chopped apples.
4. Divide batter among cupcake wells. Bake 18-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool about 5-10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

3 thoughts on “Apple Butterscotch Muffins

  1. I need to get better at trying out your recipes. It all looks so delicious! And good luck wedding planning. I keep pushing back my date so I don't have to do that 🙂 Ashley Knight

    Like

Leave a Reply

