Highlights of Christmas

Hello again! I’ve been MIA for quite awhile, but have lots of fun things to share.

Over the past week or so, I have gone to North Carolina, Ohio, back for a quick stop in NC, and now back home to Charleston.

My past week has included Starbuck’s oatmeal for breakfast at the airport, several bowls of hot soup, Chobani, lots of hot coffee, and a few sips here and there of Greg’s margaritas.

I had a grand plan to bake a Chocolate Peppermint Cheesecake, but one thing after another made my plan fall apart. First of all, the chocolate cakes both stuck to the pans. While trying to get them out, one of the cakes crumbled into pieces. 

After some brainstorming and suggestions from people replying to my Instagram post, I thought cake pops could be a great use for the crumbled cake. But I was already in the process of making the cheesecake layer and was helping with several other dishes for dinner. I wasn’t really in the mood to put in much more effort for cake pops, so I simply used a rubber spatula to press the cake into small dessert dishes. I topped with frosting and sprinkles and we were good to go! Despite the cake falling apart on me, it still was very delicious.

Now that the cheesecake layer that I had already begun making didn’t have chocolate cake to go around it, I decided to bake it in a chocolate graham cracker crust and serve the cheesecake by itself. It too was delicious.

It was so nice to be reunited with all of my siblings again. Love them. We always have a great time together, maybe a little too much fun.

No. Not possible actually.

It snowed several inches while up in Ohio and I was FUR-EAZ-ING. Greg kept wanting to play in the snow, but I refused. I did join him outside for a few minutes while he shoveled the driveway. I’m a baby and didn’t last long.

Ironically, my drink of choice that day was a cold fruit smoothie made in the Vitamix my siblings and I got my mom for Christmas. I used an apple, banana, pineapple, and vanilla Chobani. The Vitamix blended it up in no time and my smoothie disappeared just as quickly.

I hope you all had a great Christmas or whatever other holiday you may have celebrated. I knew it was going to go quickly as it always does, but it feels good to be back home.

The fun isn’t quite over yet though. My mom, step-dad, and sister Brooke came back to Charleston with me. I am looking forward to a few days of bridesmaid dress shopping, walking around downtown and more quality family time before heading back to work after we ring in the New Year.

2 thoughts on “Highlights of Christmas

Leave a Reply

