A Christmas Survey

Good morning! I am getting a few hours of work in this morning before hitting the road for North Carolina this afternoon. Greg and I will spend a few days with his family, then will fly to Ohio to be with my family for a couple of days, then driving back home to Charleston for New Years with some of my family (while Greg will stay up north for a ski trip with his groomsmen). Whew. Lots of traveling going around here! But it’s going to be a great time and I cannot wait. I also know it’s going to go so quickly so I want to just enjoy it and soak it in as much as possible.

With a lot of sweet and heavy food to look forward to in next week, I thought I’d keep things a little lighter around here today 😉

Favorite Christmas Album/CD/Song?

Mariah Carey – All I Want for Christmas is You. Never gets old for me! Go ahead and click “play” while you read the rest of this post!


Run on Christmas morning or take the day off? 

Day OFF! If I were in Charleston for Christmas, that would be one thing. But the bitter cold Ohio winters do not lend well to outdoor activities for someone who is always freezing, like me. I am not used to the cold at all anymore and when I am cold, I want nothing more than to be bundled up in a sweater, under a blanket, drinking something warm. Although, a couple of years ago Greg and I did go skiing on Christmas night. I was still freezing and preferred to take long breaks by the fire, but we had a good time 🙂




What do you usually eat on Christmas morning? 

My family always goes to the midnight mass on Christmas Eve, then goes back to my mom’s house to open presents that night (morning?). We don’t get to bed until 2-3am so sleeping in on Christmas is a must. Although, that doesn’t mean too much to me anymore since I wake up by 7:30 even when I try to sleep in. My step-dad cooks a pancake breakfast before my siblings and I go to my dad’s house for the rest of the day...where more food is served!

Favorite holiday or Christmas tradition? 

In conjunction with what I said above, I love my family’s tradition of midnight service, followed by opening presents in the middle of the night...one of the perks of having a split family (not that I recommend it in any way). There may or may not be some cookies and other treats involved throughout the night as well. But before all of that, we spend the evening with my mom’s entire side of the family at my aunt and uncle’s house playing games, watching Christmas movies and eating take-out Chinese food. 

 

Real tree, fake tree or no tree?

Growing up, my family always had a fake tree. For the past two years now, Greg and I have bought real trees and I have to say, I love it! I don’t know if I will go back to a fake. That is, as long as Greg continues to do the heavy lifting ;)
 

Christmas pajamas… yay or nay? 

I am all for some cute, cozy PJs, but my family or I never dresses up in festive sleepwear. We change into comfy sweats as soon as we get home from church (as seen above), but no candy cane or Santa prints. 

Food that you always have during the holiday season? Favorite Christmas food/treat?

Snickerdoodles and sugar cookie cut-outs are the first treats that come to mind for this one. Baking with the little ones is always so much more fun. Although, then you have to compete for who gets to lick the wooden spoon!

Open presents all at once or take turns?

Take turns! We go around and each person opens one at a time, rotating around the room until all presents have been opened. 
 
Favorite Christmas(ish) movie?   

I love How the Grinch Stole Christmas with Jim Carey. Love, love, love. Elf is a close second, but I have to say, I kind of feel like it’s been over shown at this point :/

Merry Christmas everyone! 

Leave a Reply

