Spicy Cajun Mac and Cheese

Mac and cheese, ma-mac and cheese. Uh! Can I have some please?
Please tell me you know what I’m talking about. You know, that Verizon commercial? I don’t see it on much anymore, but that song was my jam back in the summer. 
I could sing that song all day long while eating (or even just dreaming) about a bowl of this.

Super spicy. Super creamy. Super delicious. Need I say more?
Well I’m going to anyway. You need to make this. And if you have never made homemade mac and cheese before, just do it. (I’m a Nike rep now by the way….ok not really). But this was my first homemade mac and cheese experience too and I promise it’s easy peasey, nice and cheesey! 

I know I’m all over the place today. Sorry. I don’t know if it’s the Christmas music making me giddy, or the taste of this mac and cheese still lingering on my tongue. Probably a combination of both. 
I’m just going to stop while I’m ahead. Here’s the recipe…Enjoy! 

Spicy Cajun Mac and Cheese
(Adapted from Eat.Live.Run)

Makes 3-4 servings

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cup dry pasta (I used spirals)
1 tablespoon butter or margarine
3/4 green bell pepper, diced
1/2 jalapeno, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cup milk (I used original unsweetened almond milk)
1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon all purpose flour
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup shredded monterey jack cheese
2 teaspoons cajun seasoning (I used Tony Chachere’s Original Creole)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

Directions:
1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside.
2. In a large saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Add bell pepper, jalapeno and garlic. Cook about 4-5 minutes or until vegetables become tender and begin to brown. Add milk and bring to a simmer, whisking occasionally. Add flour and continue whisking for about 3 minutes. Add cheese to pot and stir until completely melted. Turn heat to low and allow to simmer. Add remaining seasonings. Pour cooked pasta into the pot and toss everything to coat the noodles. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Cajun Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

