Apple Walnut Baked Oatmeal

What is one breakfast you just can’t live without? Mine would have to be oatmeal. No matter how much I love pancakes, french toast, cinnamon rolls and doughnuts, oats plays a vital role in my diet. 
Ok, to be honest I couldn’t live without pancakes and doughnuts either. But I only indulge in those every once in awhile, and eat oatmeal almost daily. Or, just combine the two and get oatmeal pancakes!
For several months now my weekday breakfast has consisted of a bowl of hot oatmeal with almond milk, cinnamon, chai seeds and sliced banana. Not even kidding, I have probably had this about 80% of the time since the springtime. 
What can I say? I’m a creature of habit and love a good routine. It doesn’t hurt that oats are full of health benefits. 
Well, today I announce that my traditional bowl of oatmeal has some stiff competition in the form of a baked oatmeal loaf. 
Thick, hearty and full of both texture and flavor, baked oatmeal may be my new favorite discovery. I realize I have a lot of ‘favorites’ that I share with you from day to day. I’m not exaggerating with this one though. 
Next time your craving the warmth of oatmeal and have a little extra time to let it bake, rather than nuke in the microwave, try this. You won’t be disappointed.

Apple Walnut Baked Oatmeal
(Adapted from Peanut Butter Fingers)

Makes about 3 servings

Ingredients:
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon chai seeds
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
3 tablespoons apple butter
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
2 tablespoons almond milk
Optional- 
Syrup for topping

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray small loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, add oats, chai seeds, brown sugar, salt, and baking soda. Whisk thoroughly.
3. In a separate small bowl, add applesauce and apple butter. Whisk until well combined. Add to oat mixture and whisk or stir until all ingredients are well incorporated. Add walnuts and stir to evenly distribute.
4. Pour mixture into loaf pan and gently press down with a spatula to form an even layer. Drizzle almond milk over the top. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, stir, and press down again into an even layer. Bake 8-10 more minutes (oats will become medium-dark golden brown). Remove from oven. Let cool in pan up to 5 minutes. Slice into pieces and serve immediately. Top with syrup if desired.

~About 650 calories in the ENTIRE loaf!!~
…215 calories per serving…

3 thoughts on “Apple Walnut Baked Oatmeal

  1. OMG twice! I agree with Erica and Christina! I wonder if this will work in my toaster oven instead of heating the big oven? We'll see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

