Weekend Eats – Thanksgiving 2012

Thanksgiving this year was just about as good as it could have been. I have so much to be thankful for, most importantly my family. I spent this past holiday weekend in Florida and Ohio to be with both Greg’s family and my own family for a couple of days each. It was a lot of traveling, but worth every minute of the long car ride and super early flights. 
Thanksgiving Day was spent in Florida. I got an early run in to balance out the feast I was about to consume. I did surprisingly well with staying in control and not overdoing it at lunch, but that’s not to say I deprived myself in any way. This plate was full of delicious food including all of your Thanksgiving staples: turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, vegetable casserole, sweet potato casserole, stuffing, and more. 
Then I proceeded to eat about half of the pecan pie I made throughout the rest of the night. Whoops. 
Friday morning I flew to Columbus where my sister and cousin (Maid of Honor and bridesmaid!) picked me up from the airport. We headed straight to Easton, a big shopping center/mall in Columbus, for the afternoon. The first thing on the agenda was lunch at Northstar Cafe. I have been hearing about this place from family and friends at home for over a year now and it just hasn’t ever worked out for me to actually go when I’ve been home. Well, I am pleased to say I finally made it.  
More on THAT another day. 
For dinner, almost everyone from my mom’s side of the family met up for a surprise birthday dinner for my grandma GG. A traditional Italian meal only made sense for our Italian roots. 
Saturday wasn’t just any other college football game day, it was Ohio State vs. Michigan. The entire city was dressed up in scarlet and gray, as expected. My siblings and I went to a local sports bar & grill to watch the first half. Us girls had mimosas!  
Later that evening, we had Thanksgiving Part II. Although most of the foods were similar to what I had on Thanksgiving Day with Greg’s family, I was excited to have all of my mom and step-dad’s dishes like corn pudding and sausage stuffing. 
Brooke was my assistant in the kitchen that night as we prepared a fresh brussel sprout side dish to accompany everything else. More on that another day as well.
Everything was amazing. Dessert (unfortunately not pictured) included pumpkin pie with whipped cream (my favorite) and a cherry cobbler.
What was the tastiest part of your Thanksgiving?

One thought on “Weekend Eats – Thanksgiving 2012

Leave a Reply

