Southwestern Style Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Hi friends! 
I hope you haven’t been missing me too much this week. Just bear with me awhile longer as I continue to adjust to my new life with the puppy. Whew! Early mornings, constant potty breaks and playtime sure do make it difficult to spend time on my computer while I’m at home. Especially since Zoey thinks she’s a blogger too and inevitably paws at my keyboard whenever I have my computer open. 
I have a whole new respect for mommy bloggers!

I have been with you in spirit though, thinking about all I would have to tell you about when I finally had some time to write again. 
I did a much better job this week of cooking real meals at home, rather than eating out or throwing together hodgepodge dinners that I was doing a little too frequently the past couple of weeks. 
This is one dinner in particular I have been very excited to share with you. 

This is just about as simple as you can get and it combines literally almost all of my favorite foods into one. The wide variety of flavors and nutritious ingredients make for one satisfying meal.
Southwestern Style Stuffed Sweet Potatoes
(Adapted from Peas and Crayons)
Makes 1 serving (easily multiplied as needed!)
Ingredients:
1 whole medium sweet potato
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup cooked black beans
2 tablespoons guacamole
1-2 tablespoons sour cream
2 tablespoons crumbled cheese (I used goat cheese)
1 cup lettuce or other greens of choice (optional for serving)
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Use a fork to poke holes all over the potato. Place potato in a bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Roll potato around in the bowl to evenly coat. Add salt to bowl and roll again to coat. Once oven is heated, place potato directly on the rack. Bake 45-55 minutes. Remove from oven and slice lengthwise. Use tongs to gently squeeze ends of potato to open it up.
2. Spread lettuce evenly across a plate. Add potato on top of lettuce and top with remaining ingredients. 
2 thoughts on “Southwestern Style Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Reply

