Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

Happy Halloweeeeeen!

I have a very festive fall treat for you today, so I hope you’re ready. Put that Halloween candy aside for just a few minutes while you indulge in a Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll. 

Being my first time baking cinnamon rolls from scratch, I quickly discovered how challenging they can be. It’s not like I didn’t know going into it. After finding this recipe weeks ago, I kept putting it off because I was a little intimidated by it. 

Sometimes you need to take on a challenge though. And when the result tastes like one of these babies, all of the time and effort is worth it. With just one bite I had already forgotten about how I had to impatiently wait for the dough to rise and how I just about quit when the rolling of the dough didn’t exactly turn out as pretty as I imagined.

I image a sweet pumpkiny roll of goodness will be the perfect way to console myself while watching horror movies tonight. As much of a scaredy-cat as I am, I love the thrill of a good Halloween movie!

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls
(Adapted from Life Made Simple)

Makes about 8 rolls

*Note the amount of each ingredient may seem odd, but that’s because I cut the original recipe in half

Ingredients:
For the dough- 
2 tablespoons warm water
1 packet active dry yeast
2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons of milk
1/2 of one large egg, lightly beaten (about 1 1/2 tablespoons of beaten egg)
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
1 1/2 teaspoons butter
1 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons flour, divided
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice

For the filling-
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 tablespoons canned pumpkin

1/2 cup cream cheese frosting (I used Pillsbury whipped cream cheese frosting)

Directions:
1. In a small bowl, combine warm water and yeast. Let sit about 10 minutes while yeast dissolves.
2. Gently stir in milk, egg, pumpkin, butter, 1 1/4 cup of the flour, sugars, and spices. Add to bowl of stand-alone mixer and beat on medium speed for about 1-2 minutes. Add the hook attachment to the mixer and blend another 2 minutes, while slowly adding the remaining flour.
3. Place dough on well-floured surface kneed 8-10 times. Let sit in a greased bowl for up to an hour. Dough should double in size.
4. While dough is rising, prepare filling by mixing the sugars, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice.
5. When dough has risen, roll into a rectangle, about 12×6 inches, onto a well-floured surface. Spread the softened butter and canned pumpkin evenly across the top, then sprinkle with the sugar and spice mixture. Roll dough into a log, starting from the wide end. Cut into 8 equal slices and set in a well greased round cake pan (7 rolls around the perimeter and one in the middle). Cover with plastic wrap or towel and let sit another 45 minutes until rolls have almost doubled in size.
6. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-22 minutes or until rolls have become golden brown.
7. Let rolls cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. Ice as desired and serve warm.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Think I'll double the recipe so I don't have to divide the egg….considering also the size of my family! :). Wish I could have you over for pumpkin rolls and tea!

    Like

  2. looks so delicious!
    I think cinnamon rolls are my favorite breakfast treat, and there's no denying that pumpkin makes everything 10x better!
    thanks for posting the recipe, I will have to try these out this weekend 🙂
    xoxo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

