Brownie Chunk Oatmeal Protein Cookies

I’m at a loss for words. Not because these cookies were not inspiring or indescribable to the point that I have nothing to say about them. It’s just that they are all gone now and I’m grieving. 
All of the alone time I had last weekend was good for my soul in some ways, but definitely not good for waistline if you know what I mean. I loved turning on my favorite Pandora stations and totally being in my element in the kitchen. I followed some recipes to the ‘T’ while experimenting my own way with others. 

This cookie recipe was one of the aforementioned ‘others’. Yes, I just said aforementioned. I don’t know that I’ve ever used that word in my life, but I’m feeling sophisticated on this lovely Friday. Plus I might very well still be a little sugar crazed from the past week. It didn’t help that Publix’s frozen yogurt was on sale too and we all know my love for that is irresistible  It’d been several weeks since I had a bowl of that creamy heaven and now that it’s been part of my daily life again all feels right in the world. 
I think I may have gotten off track there. Sorry. Where was I? Oh right, these cookies. Um, can you imagine how a good a brownie combined with a cookie would be? You don’t have to imagine anymore. Just make these. I can testify that they are every bit as good as you would think. And I’ll do you one better, they are not just any brownies, they are sea salt brownies
True story. 
(P.S. It was completely unintentional, but apparently my theme for the week has been the combination of two types of sweets into one: Cake and cookies, donuts and muffins, and now brownies and cookies. Hey, I’m not complaining!)

I guess some of you might also like to know that the cookies are made with protein powder too. Just another reason to love them, although I doubt eating two or three at a time are going to build your muscle mass. Then again, if you crumble one on top of a bowl of vanilla Greek yogurt (also high in protein), you might just wake up with a six-pack. 
Just kidding. But you should still try eating them that way too. You won’t be sorry. 

Brownie Chunk Oatmeal Protein Cookies
(Adapted from Dashing Dish)

Makes about 6 medium cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup oats
2 tablespoons vanilla protein powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 teaspoons corn starch
1 tablespoon water
4 pieces Trader Joe’s Sea Salt Brownie Petites (or 1 2-3″ square brownie), cut into small pieces

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cookie sheet with nonstick spray and set aside.
2. Add 1/2 cup of the oats to a food processor. Blend about 1 minute, until oats turn to flour.
3. Add ground oats to a medium bowl with the remaining oats, protein powder, baking soda, salt and sugar.
4. In a separate small or medium bowl, whisk corn starch and water (this will create a mixture to serve as egg substitute). Add softened butter/margarine and vanilla to this mixture. Whisk thoroughly to combine. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir to combine. Gently fold in the brownie pieces.
5. Scoop batter onto cookie sheet and gently press down (cookies will not flatten much on their own).
6. Bake 7-8 minutes or until tops and edges become golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool on cookies sheet for 10 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

2 thoughts on “Brownie Chunk Oatmeal Protein Cookies

Leave a Reply

