Cake Batter Cookies

Does Pinterest overwhelm anyone else, or is it just me? Don’t get me wrong, I love browsing, especially the Food boards, looking for new ideas. But then I realize I have hundreds of recipes saved and instead of actually putting them to use, they continue to pile up. Every once in awhile I tell myself I cannot save another recipe until I work my way through the ones I already have saved. 
This past weekend was the perfect opportunity to take advantage of all of my alone time and bake my heart out. 
Cake batter, white chocolate and sprinkles come together to form these soft and chewy cookies that will give actual birthday cakes a run for their money. 

You might be wondering how that is possible without frosting, right? If you’re like me, the main reason you eat cake in the first place is for the frosting. Sure, it tastes great on top of cake, but eating it by the spoonful is just as nice. 

By all means, feel free to slather some frosting right on top of these cookies. The only reason I didn’t was because I was simultaneously surrounded by cookie and cupcake batter coated bowls, whisks and spatulas. There was already so much sugar floating around my kitchen, I didn’t want to put myself in a coma. 
Frosting or not, birthday or not, these cookies give reason to celebrate. It puts meaning to the phrase, “a party in your mouth,” more than ever before. 

Cake Batter Cookies
(Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)

Makes 16-18 cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons yellow cake mix
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
6 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1/4 cup sprinkles
2-3 tablespoons white chocolate chips

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, add cake mix, flour and baking soda. Whisk to combine.
2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add butter and sugars. Beat on medium speed until creamy, about 2 minutes. Add vanilla and egg while continuing to beat until well incorporated.
3. While beating on medium speed, gradually add flour mixture until just incorporated. Turn beater off and add sprinkles and chocolate chips. Fold in with a spatula.
4. Chill dough for at least 45 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cookie sheet with nonstick spray. Once finished chilling, drop dough by the tablespoon onto cookie sheet. Bake 9-10 minutes or until the tops and edges just become golden brown. Allow to cool on sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack to cool completely.

4 thoughts on “Cake Batter Cookies

Leave a Reply

