Baked Double Mocha Donuts

Did you know this past Saturday was National Coffee Day?? ….Oh yeah, I did too. Duh. 
No, not really. Complete coincidence that I made a batch of Baked Double Mocha Donuts on Saturday. Or maybe it was fate. 

Having never baked anything with coffee, I didn’t know what to expect. I love a cup or two of morning joe as much as the next person, but I have never been inclined to go for coffee flavored treats. Regardless, something about this recipe spoke to me. Plus, I’m always up for using my donut pan! (This is the one I have in case you’re curious: Wilton Six Standard Doughnut Pan)
I ended up with plenty of leftover batter after filling the donut pan wells, so I filled a mini muffin tin for “donut holes”. 

Yes. Yes. And yes. Everything about this. Just, YES. 
Out of all of the donuts I have made, these have won my heart and I’m sure they will win yours too.

Double Mocha Donuts

(Adapted from Crazy for Crust)

Makes about 8 regular donuts (or 6 regular and 8 “donut holes”)

Ingredients:
For the donuts-
1 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons cake flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 tablespoons brewed coffee
1 egg
3/4 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

For the frosting-
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons brewed coffee

Chocolate sprinkles, as desired

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray donut pan with non-stick spray and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk buttermilk, coffee, egg, vanilla and oil. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir until combined, but do not overmix.
4. Use a spoon to scoop batter into donut wells. Fill about 3/4 the way. Bake 8-10 minutes or until toothpick inserted in donut comes out clean. Allow to cool at least 10 minutes before removing from pan. Place on cooling rack and cool completely before frosting.
5. While donuts are cooling, prepare frosting by combining all ingredients in a medium bowl. Blend with a hand mixer until smooth. Frost and sprinkle donuts as desired.

2 thoughts on “Baked Double Mocha Donuts

Leave a Reply

