Strawberries and Cream Crepes

Hey there. Is it Monday already? The weekend went pretty quickly for me, because Greg and I were at his parent’s house in North Carolina. Quick weekend getaways are always nice, but sure do make the weekend fly!

The good news is that this is my last week working our extended tech support hours at the office. Woohoo! For someone like me who strives on routine and normalcy, I cannot WAIT to get back on a regular schedule next week. The end is in sight!

You know what else is in sight?

You see them, right? Crepes! Have you ever had crepes? Just in case you are unfamiliar, they are basically super thin pancakes of French origin (significance on that in a minute). I was first introduced to crepes at First Watch, a breakfast and lunch cafe that my friends and I loved through my high school years. It was probably our most common Saturday post-swim practice breakfast. One of my regular orders were their fruit crepes with berries, apples, and yogurt. I have tried a more savory-filled crepe too, but sweet almost always wins for me. 

The reason the French origin of crepes is important here is because I made them for a wedding shower for a co-worker last week who is going to Paris for her honeymoon. We decided to try to stick with a French theme as much as possible and after some searching, I knew crepes would be perfect. 
Besides being adorable, the crepes themselves were sooo easy to make. Even easier than pancakes from a mix. The tricky part came when I had to figure out the best way to assemble them and get them to the office the next day in proper form. (Transporting my baked goods always seems to be the most difficult task for me.) After stuffing each crepe with strawberry slices and rolling each one up, I was strongly doubting my efforts. It was too late to make something else so I stuck the pan of rolled crepes in the fridge overnight. When we pulled them out for the shower at work, I was thrilled that the refrigeration turned out to be very helpful. The thin crepes ended up sticking to themselves and held together really well. 
Since I always like to make cute food even cuter (that’s a weird looking word by the way), I added a little mountain of whipped cream then a sprinkle of cinnamon and powdered sugar to each one. 

Strawberries and Cream Crepes
(Adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe)
Makes about 16 6-inch crepes
Ingredients:
2 eggs
1 1/4 cups milk
1 cup all purpose flour
2 tablespoons melted butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 quart of strawberries, chopped into small pieces
1/4 cup powdered sugar, plus more for topping
1 1/2 cups whipped cream for topping
Cinnamon for topping
Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, combine eggs, milk, flour, butter and salt and whisk thoroughly. Allow batter to chill in fridge for up to an hour.
2. When ready to make the crepes, set small skillet over medium heat and coat with non-stick spray. When hot, lift skillet and tilt to one side. Add about 1/4 cup batter to the skillet and quickly rotate the pan around so the batter is evenly distributed in a thin layer. Allow to cook about 1-2 minutes. Use a spatula to gently lift the edges and flip the crepe to the other side. Cook for about one more minute, remove from skillet, and add to wire cooling rack. Repeat until all batter has been used.
3. Once all crepes are cooked, place about 1-2 tablespoons of the chopped strawberries in each. Sprinkle about a teaspoon of powdered sugar on the strawberries and roll the crepe gently, but tightly. Top with 1-2 tablespoons whipped cream, cinnamon and powdered sugar. Repeat as necessary. 
3 thoughts on “Strawberries and Cream Crepes

  1. Glad you had a nice weekend! The crepes are beautiful. I've actually never had a crepe. The french theme was a very cute idea. Yayyy for the last week of crazy schedule

    Like

  2. Your Great-grandmother Frances used to make crepes and they were delicious! Why didn't I keep the custom going?! Thanks to you crepes will be making a comeback in my kitchen! Love You!

    Like

Leave a Reply

