Banana Bread Snack Cake with a Cinnamon Glaze

Last week I stuck a few brown bananas in the freezer knowing I could keep them there to wait until it was time I make one of the 100 banana recipes I have pinned. Then about two days later, I noticed a whole bunch of bananas in the snack basket (one of the best things about my work) at my office that had turned completely brown as well. I wasn’t about to let those babies get thrown away, so I made the executive decision to adopt them myself. I gave them a home in my freezer with the other browned bananas and suddenly I had just about enough to bake every single banana recipe I could want.

Since I would need to quit my real job to be able to bake as much as I wanted, I knew I needed to play favorites and only pick the recipes that looked exceptionally delicious…for now anyway.

First up: Banana Bread Snack Cake from the one and only Jessica at How Sweet It Is.

I subbed cake flour for whole wheat pastry flour simply because I didn’t have any. Otherwise, I would have loved to use whole wheat for the added health benefits. I am not sure how this switch might have changed the overall outcome of the snack cake in terms of density or any other qualities. For better or for worse, the cake flour version seemed to work quite well.
These turned out just the way I expected. Sweet enough to be a cake, but not so sweet that you feel guilty eating some for breakfast or a snack. It is called snack cake after all. Not that you really need an excuse to eat cake for breakfast or for a snack, but at least you can feel better doing it when it’s something like this. 
Another plus? The clean-up is extra easy because you can make these all in a single bowl. If you’re anything like me, you consider the mess baking is going to make and look for recipes that require less equipment. 
I still have a few banana recipes up my sleeve to put the other frozen fruits to use. The snack cake was a good start, but I’m thinking something with chocolate in the mix will need to happen for the next one. Stay tuned!

Banana Bread Snack Cake
(Slightly adapted from How Sweet It Is)

Makes 16 squares

Ingredients:
For the cake-
1 egg
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 medium very ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons cake flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons butter, melted

For the glaze-
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon milk
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:
To make the cake-
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 8×8 baking pan and set aside.
2. In a medium/large bowl, whisk egg and brown sugar until smooth. Add vanilla and mashed bananas. Whisk until well combined. Add flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Stir until just combined. Add butter and stir until evenly incorporated.
3. Pour batter into pan and bake 20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.
4. Remove from oven and cool about 5-10 minutes before cutting into squares. Drizzle glaze overtop and dig in!

To make the glaze-
1. Combine ingredients in a small bowl. Stir with spoon until smooth.

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread Snack Cake with a Cinnamon Glaze

Leave a Reply

