A Restaurant Review – 82 Queen (Take 2)

On Sunday I mentioned my family’s trip to 82 Queen to celebrate my mom’s birthday. We arrived right on time for our reservation. Despite the rain, my mom’s wishes were granted when the hostess told us we could still sit outside underneath the gazebo. 
We ordered a couple bottles of wine, one red and one white, then were served baskets of their amazing cheddar chive biscuits.
It took all I had not to dive in for more than just one. I knew I had a plenty more food and wine to keep me full for the rest of the night. 
It didn’t take me long to decide on my entree: Lump Crab Cakes. The cakes were served on top of ‘hashatash.’ I only had an idea of what this was because of some menu research I did before hand (duh), but our server described it as a mix of red peppers, lima beans, corn, and onion. The dish all came together with Tabasco beurre blanc. Don’t let the name fool you. Although it is made with Tabasco, it was not spicy in the least. 

Simply put, everything about this dish was incredible. I absolutely loved it. As good as the crab cakes were, the hashatash may have been even better!
One of the other entrees at the table were the Queen’s Barbeque Shrimp and Grits. Brooke and Greg both had this dish and raved about it just as much as I did with mine. 
Then came dessert. Ohhhhh dessert. My favorite part. We ordered three different ones and split them amongst the table. 
My choice was the Bourbon Pecan Pie. I had this the first time I went to the restaurant and it wasn’t a question that I needed it again.

We also ordered this banana split spin-off, served with vanilla ice cream and chocolate ganache (I don’t remember the actual name). 

Greg was all about the key lime pie. It was light and refreshing compared to the others, but not quite indulgent enough to be my favorite. 

Overall, I cannot put into words how much of a great night this was. The food was obviously to die for, but combined with the company, it made for an amazing time. I am so glad I got to spend a nice evening out with my family, especially my mom, even if it was a few days late from her actual birthday. 
82 Queen on Urbanspoon
One thought on “A Restaurant Review – 82 Queen (Take 2)

Leave a Reply

