{Another} Vegetarian Italian Pasta Salad

A big bowl of chilled pasta salad is a must in the hot summer months. This isn’t the first Italian pasta salad recipe I’ve posted, and it probably won’t be my last. I am a pasta-loving girl. Really, I am a carb-loving girl in general. I have learned to be more careful about consuming so many carbs ever since I quit the swim team in college and haven’t been burning nearly as many calories as I once did. 

Pasta salads like this one allow me to get my pasta/carb fix while still fitting in tons of healthy vegetables. Win-win!

I love a bright colorful meal, don’t you?

This recipe is similar to my other pasta salad, but I scaled it down a bit to better fit my table for two. I also used some different vegetables and cheese. 
I am always looking for new ideas for pasta salads so please share your favorite things to mix into yours! 
{Another} Vegetarian Italian Pasta Salad

Makes 3-4 servings
Ingredients:
1 cup dry ziti noodles
1 cup cherry tomatoes, chopped
1 cup cooked frozen peas
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1/2 block sharp cheddar cheese, cut into chunks
1/4 cup chopped basil
1/2 cup Italian dressing
Directions:
1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Meanwhile, prepare vegetables and cheese by chopping as necessary. 
2. Add pasta to boiling water and cook according to package directions (about 8-10 minutes). Drain and rinse in cold water. 
3. Pour pasta in large bowl along with the vegetables, cheese, and basil. Stir to mix well. Add Italian dressing and gently stir to distribute evenly.
(For best flavor, refrigerate at least one hour before serving)

Leave a Reply

