The Food of St. Kitts

Whew! It has been a busy week. I have been oh-so slowly unpacking from vacation, catching up at work, and most importantly trying to determine a wedding date! 
Before it’s too late, and too irrelevant, I think it’s about time I show you some of the delicious food I ate in the Caribbean. One thing I quickly learned- “vegetables” on the menu often don’t refer to broccoli, carrots, onion, peppers, or asparagus. Instead, most of the time I asked for vegetables, I received various types of potatoes and, get this, BANANAS. Who knew bananas were a type of vegetable? Works for me!
Vegetable Platter from Reggae Beach Bar.

Vanilla and Hazelnut Lattes from the Calypso Cafe at the resort (they were HOT HOT HOT!).

I was able to keep breakfast consistently healthy with either oatmeal or this: toast spread with peanut butter and sliced banana on top.

We took a day-long catamaran snorkle cruise to St. Kitts’ sister island, Nevis. After some snorkling and plenty of rum drinks on the boat, we arrived on the beach with lunch waiting for us. Hot dogs, chicken, pasta salad and a vegetable salad.

Poolside ice cream cone! 

Our big group took turns cooking dinner for each other. Greg’s mom used a crock pot to make this great pulled chicken with a pineapple-coconut sauce, served over white rice and broccoli on the side.

Besides Spice Mill where we got engaged (!!!!), we enjoyed another fancy dinner at The Beach House with Greg’s parents. We went on a Wednesday night where they feature a Chef’s Appreciation Menu. Each person gets one appetizer, one entree, and one dessert from a fixed menu for $39. I started with a salad, followed by this pappardelle pasta.

The dessert options didn’t “wow” me, but the banana bread pudding sounded best. I was expecting a small portion, and that sure is what I got! I was happy with the taste though, and also happy in the end that I wasn’t tempted with a giant dessert.

There were more than enough rum drinks throughout the week, but even more than that was Carib, the local beer. I am definitely not a beer person. Only recently have I even been interested in ordering one by choice as opposed to wine or a fruity vodka drink. But I have to say, this beer wasn’t bad at all.

Our last night in St. Kitts brought us back to Reggae Beach Bar for their Friday night barbecue and bonfire. Every Friday night, they cook these five different meats: chicken, shrimp, fish, crab and ribs. Each person gets to pick THREE of these! Plus, it comes with a buffet of side dishes like salad, mixed vegetables (REAL veggies this time, not just potatoes), grilled plantains, and rice and beans. 

With eight people in our group, and two plates each (one for sides and one for meats), we had quite the spread across our table.
So much good food. And of course so many great memories. But as much as I loved St. Kitts, I always find myself saying, There’s no place like home! …and Chipotle…and Publix groceries! 

Leave a Reply

