A Caribbean Proposal

Hi friends! First of all, Happy Memorial Day! Having a brother who is currently in the Navy, plus my grandfathers, step dad, and other family members who have a history with the military, so this day means a lot to me. I am so proud of all they have done and still do to fight for our continued freedoms and safety. THANK YOU!

Greg and I returned home from vacation in St. Kitts late on Saturday night and spent yesterday relaxing with some friends by the pool, followed by a celebration dinner at Coleman Public House. Celebrating what?

OUR ENGAGEMENT!

Yes. It’s true. Greg proposed last week in St. Kitts and it was the perfect night. Here’s the story (warning, this is a long post!):

It was our first full day on the island. Remember, we were there with Greg’s parents, his two brothers, and their girlfriends. Greg suggested that we go out to dinner by ourselves that night. We had already found a restaurant called Spice Mill that we knew we wanted to try and I was all for going that night. Although I knew it was a nice restaurant, he was so low-key about the whole thing so I didn’t have any suspicions. I was even the one that ended up making the reservation that afternoon. 
We got a cab to drive us and was kind enough to stop along the way and take some pictures.

We were both surprised when we got to the restaurant and found we were the only ones there. So much for needing that reservation! 
Anyway, we ordered some mixed rum drinks from the beach bar then headed back up to our table to order dinner. Again, Greg was still acting completely normal and I didn’t think anything seemed out of the ordinary.

This is a food blog right? So here’s a quick look at the food 🙂 
Since I was on vacation in another country, I had known going into it that I may have to eat some meat throughout the week. I did, but I was also able to fit in a lot of plant-based foods too. More on that another day.
I had the Herb Roasted Pork Loin which came with sweet potato wedges and cheesy eggplant slices on the side. 

Love, love, loved this dish. The pork was so tender and the sides were delicious too. I was “mmmm”-ing with every bite. 
Greg had the Cajun Shrimp Pasta. The word “cajun” on a menu description is a sure sign Greg will like it. This case wasn’t any different. 

He was loving his dish too, and the bite I snagged gave my meal a run for its money. 
We finished our entrees and ordered a slice of key lime pie to split for dessert (unfortunately it was the tiniest slice ever and not worth the picture). After paying the bill, Greg got me up from my seat and lead me to the beach. 
They had some cabana/bed type things on the beach, right along the water. Greg told me to sit down and despite the padding on the bed being slightly damp, I did. He pulled out the ring which was still in the box and I started freaking out. He was just smiling, but I still didn’t know if I could believe what was about to happen. 
When he got on his knee and asked me, I was in tears. Of course I said yes and just stared at the ring he had put on my finger. 
We sat there a few minutes more while I asked him all of the questions running through my mind. Who knew about this?! How long have you had this?! Did you pick it out yourself?! What if we didn’t come to dinner by ourselves tonight, what were you going to do then?! I really could not believe it. 
Finally it was time to head back up to catch our cab. On our way out, we told our waitress what had happened and she was so excited for us. Just like our cab driver, she was kind enough to take a few pictures. Unfortunately, they all came out blurry. Yup, every single one of them.

So, the next day, we were at a beach right by the restaurant and walked back to “the scene of the crime” as Greg likes to call it 😉 Greg’s dad took clearer pictures of us, not quite as dressed up though.

Below is the beach bed where it happened. It was the most gorgeous view!

As soon as we got back to the resort that night, I quickly called my family. Being out of the country, our minutes were limited, but I wasn’t about to keep them waiting until I got back with this news! Turns out, Greg had called my dad the day before we left to ask him for permission. Besides that, Greg’s parents were the only others who knew what was coming to me that night.
Everything was so perfect. I couldn’t have imagined anything better. 
Now time to plan a wedding!!!
8 thoughts on “A Caribbean Proposal

  1. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! I'm so so excited for you! We have to have a little celebration brunch or coffee date! Let me know when you're free. Were you at Coleman last night? We went too!

    Like

  2. YAY!!!! Loved reading the story of how it happened! I am so happy for you and can't believe it. You will be a beautiful bride and a perfect wife! Greg is a lucky man 🙂 Enjoy every minute of planning I can't wait to hear all your stories as you move forward!

    Like

  3. This post is too exciting to save in a computer file only. Print and frame it for a 'Capture the Moment' your children will love to read. A Prosecco toast is waiting for when we are together!

    Like

  4. I LOVE THIS POST :)))))) I'm so happy for you guys, you have begun the domino affect for weddings! I love you sooo much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

