Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Just because it’s the beginning of summertime doesn’t mean one can’t enjoy a little pumpkin in their life. It doesn’t have to be a strictly fall flavor, you know. 
All week I was planning on baking with Brooke during her and my mom’s short stay with us in Charleston. Then on Thursday, while I was waiting for them to arrive, I realized something. We weren’t actually going to have time to bake. I guess we could have squeezed it in if we really wanted, but I still had to work all day and pack for vacation, then we wanted to spend time out and about in Charleston too. So it just wasn’t going to happen. 
I figured that even though we couldn’t fit in sisterly baking time, we could still enjoy some homemade baked goods. I wanted to do something easy (what else is new) and found a bag of pumpkin pancake/muffin mix in the back of the pantry. I followed the directions on the back with a few minor tweaks and before I knew it, I had a batch of these babies!

Then I ate one or two while patiently waiting for my long lost sister to arrive. 
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins
(Adapted from recipe on pumpkin mix bag)
Makes 12 muffins
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups pumpkin muffin mix
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 eggs, beaten
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter or margarine, melted
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup chocolate chips
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Fill muffin tin will paper liners.
2. In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar and butter. Whisk thoroughly. Add muffin mix, oats and milk. Stir to combine. Fold in chocolate chips.
3. Pour batter evenly into muffin wells.
4. Bake for 12-13 minutes.

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Leave a Reply

