Sourdough Pizza and a Marshmallow Sweet Potato

When I got home from work yesterday, all I wanted to do was lay down and not move a muscle. I felt extra exhausted and instantly threw out the idea for another evening bike ride, like I had planned on this morning.
Normally the first thing I do when I get off of work is call Greg to see where he is/when he will be home and see what he wants for dinner. Last night, I was too tired to even think about dinner. It’s not that I wasn’t hungry at all, I just didn’t have any desire to prepare anything.
Greg came home shortly after I had planted myself on the couch and said he wanted to make homemade pizza for dinner. We have had a giant bowl of bread starter in the fridge that Greg made last week for his mom’s sourdough bread recipe. We already made a loaf this past weekend and haven’t stopped thinking about what else we will use it for. Just like the last time we had this starter, we knew homemade pizza was at the top of the to-do list. 
Once Greg got going in the kitchen, I figured I could try to get up and help. I was in charge of the pizza dough and followed the directions from my Not-So-White-Pizza (halving the recipe). But I decided I wasn’t really in the mood for pizza (I told you I wan’t feeling so hot!). Since we already had the crust dough coming together and the toppings chopped, I figured it only made sense for Greg to take this one on his own. Keeping things extremely simple for me, I wrapped a sweet potato in foil and stuck it in the hot oven for about 45 minutes. 
Greg’s sausage, onion and cheese pizza finished cooking first. This iPhone picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was so rustic looking. I loved it. 

My roasted sweet potato finished cooking just a few minutes later. 
I sliced it open, stuffed mini marshmallows inside and sprinkled with cinnamon. On the side I had a heaping cup of spicy steamed broccoli- spicy because it was seasoned with red pepper flakes. So good. 
This light, healthy dinner boosted my energy and I felt so much better. Or maybe it was the few bites of one of these and the bowl of cookies and cream fro yo for dessert that made my night ten times better!
Leave a Reply

