Mid-Week Vegetarian Review

Goooooood morning! It is quite a good morning for me, because even though it’s only Thursday, it is my last day of work until next Tuesday. Greg and I are meeting our families in Panama City Beach for the holiday weekend. No, it’s not the party scene you’re thinking. His family has a house in the more “local” area that isn’t necessarily flooded with crazy college kids on spring break. We’ll be avoiding that as much as possible and enjoying some quite pool/beach/family time.

That being said, I know this weekend is going to be challenging. Eating out is sure to bring temptation…cheeseburgers here, french fries there. Not to mention the Easter brunch staples like baked ham, bread rolls and desserts galore.

Since I started my new way of eating last weekend, I haven’t had much trouble making good choices. I have found creative ways to enjoy more vegetables, beans, and other whole foods in my diet.

Like I said before, I haven’t ruled out eggs or cheese completely. An over-easy egg was perfect on top of these home fry style potatoes, complete with bell pepper, onion and ricotta cheese. Can you say, “Yum.”? 😉

Then, for two nights in a row, we had veggie pizza for dinner! Using almost the same method as these Sausage and Pepper Flatbreads (obviously using different ingredients), these babies were ready in no time. 

Yesterday was the first Wednesday of the month. You know what that means, right? Well, probably not unless you have amazing memory from last time I mentioned this. It means cake at work! Cake is most definitely not on the list of whole or plant-based foods. Buuuuuut, rules are meant to be broken. We actually get bagels at the office for breakfast too on these days. I skipped the bagel and stuck with my own breakfast of oatmeal, so at least I only splurged once. (These are the things I tell myself that let me sleep at night…j/k.)
Of all of my meals this week, last night’s dinner wins the blue ribbon. Greg insisted on Sweet Potato Quesadillas. I have to admit, this is one of my specialties. Probably one of the best things I make. But I just wasn’t in the mood (I had made a bean/corn wrap for lunch and wanted to switch it up).
So after throwing together some ‘dillas for G, I added some of the remaining filling mixture- sweet potatoes, black beans, onions, corn and spices- to the skillet with a large handful of spinach. I let everything cook for about 4-5 minutes, stirring constantly until the spinach was wilted and all ingredients were hot. 
The mixture went right on my plate with a few tortilla chips to scoop. 
I LOVED THIS SALAD! 
If I find something this delicious in Florida this weekend, I’ll be a happy semi-vegetarian camper! 
Leave a Reply

