Sunday Blessings – A Plant Based Diet

First things first. It’s APRIL?! How the heck did that happen? I don’t have a clever way to fool you this morning, so I’m not even going to try. I’m just trying to figure out how April came upon us so quickly. Is anyone else feeling the same way?

With the start of a new month, I figure now is the perfect time to make a commitment to something that I have been thinking about non-stop for two days now. Just a heads up, this is a long, pictureless post. Are you ready? Here we go!

I watched a documentary on Netflix Friday night called, “Forks Over Knives.” The film follows several doctors whose research over the past few decades have proven that many diseases and cancer can be prevented and even reversed with the implementation of a whole foods, plant-based diet. The facts cannot be ignored- Americans eat WAY too much meat and animal-based products for our own good. The misconceptions that we have about the benefits from the amount of protein in meat and the amount of calcium in dairy milk are destroying us.

Christina recently began adapting a similar diet and talks about it here. To be honest, when I read about her changes, along with any other restricted diet such as vegetarian, pescatarian, vegan, etc. I was not convinced in the least that I wanted anything to do with this lifestyle. I love chicken. Although I don’t eat red meat too often, I do love a good burger every now and then. I typically buy skim dairy milk (although I have been buying Almond milk more recently) to pour on top of dry cereal for breakfast at least four days a week. And then there’s the processed foods. I have gotten pretty good about this one over the past several months, but still have my downfalls.

But, just because I am at a healthy weight and not sick now, doesn’t mean the build-up of animal-based foods isn’t going to have an effect down the road. Looking at the research shown in the documentary, cancer rates are unbelievable lower in countries whose people do not drink glasses of cows milk at breakfast and eat slabs of meat for dinner.

If you haven’t guess already, I have decided to incorporate this whole foods, plant-based diet into my lifestyle. I will say, I am not taking this to the extreme by any means. Chicken mixed in a salad or stir-fry every so often is certain to happen. Boxed cake mix to help out with some of my recipes? You can be sure that’s not going anywhere. And I don’t think I’ll be able to part with eggs either.

Mandy is also challenging herself to a similar diet change, but taking it much more to the extreme than I am committing to. She talks about it here. I just wanted to quote the same Bible verse she did:

“And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food.” -Genesis 1:29

God gave us bright colorful fruits and vegetables to eat. There is nothing wrong with eating meat, but it doesn’t seem as if that was God’s original intent for our source of nutrition. From this point on, I want to  go back to those roots (no pun intended) and bring those all-natural foods to the center of my diet.

I realize this is a somewhat controversial topic, but it is a personal choice that I am making to benefit my own health. It is not going to be easy to eliminate foods I loved for my whole life, but I am looking forward to the challenge.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – A Plant Based Diet

  1. Good luck with the challenge girl! I was a full on veg for almost a year and a half before having Kaylin. Once I was pregnant, I had a lot of trouble getting enough protein in. I think the best thing to do is listen to your body and eat all things in moderation. That being said, when I do buy meat now, I try to buy organic and free range when possible

    Like

  2. Thank you! I'm not sure that I could go completely vegetarian, but I'm going to do my best to choose other options before meat. I'm sure being pregnant is a completely different story, so I'll takle that when that time comes a few years down the road 🙂

    Like

  3. Good for you for making a positive change! You and I ate very similar before. Be careful though — every time you make a major change to your eating style, your body reacts. I've actually gained weight! Annoying! It's been over 2 months and I'm slowly trying to figure out how to balance everything. 🙂 Let me know if you have any questions!

    Like

Leave a Reply

