How to Avoid Madness with Yogurt and Sushi

Ohhhhh Bridge Run weekend. There are times when I miss living downtown, but this weekend is not one of them.

While more than 50,000 people woke up extra early this morning to push their way through crowds of people to find their place in line, then run a 10K over the Cooper River Bridge, I opted out of the madness this year. A solo run through the quiet trails and neighborhoods of Daniel Island sounded much better (although they are not as quiet as normal this weekend on the island, because the Family Circle Cup tennis tournament is taking place right next door).

Even though I didn’t run the race, I still got one perk from the event. Lindsay, a Chobani rep from NYC, was in town for the expo and other race festivities. She met some other local food bloggers and me for breakfast at Charleston’s Cafe.

I was so excited, because this was my first blogger meet-up! It was so much fun to meet Erica, Amy (and their adorable babies!) and Lindsay.

Erica has had plenty of experience at this restaurant and only had good things to say about all of the food, which didn’t help my indecisiveness one bit. I intended to keep my breakfast relatively light, so I ordered the Blueberry Breakfast Parfait and a sweet potato biscuit (!!!!!!!!).

Both were sooo good and filled me up much more than I was expecting. Everyone else’s food- pancakes, french toast, and oatmeal – looked delicious as well. I can’t wait to go back to try more!
Here’s the group afterwards. It was a great way to start the day!
The end of the day wasn’t too bad either. I was on my own for dinner and spontaneously decided to make the short drive to Publix to see what pre-made food I could quickly find. The big sign for sushi outside of the entrance made my shopping easy.

California Roll. Don’t mind if I do.
Today I’m hoping to soak up some sun and relax, because by 9pm I won’t be so relaxed! I’ll be watching the Ohio State game with Greg and some friends and it’s not going to be an easy game. It is most likely going to be a stressful couple of hours, but I’m hoping we pull off the win. Go Bucks!
2 thoughts on “How to Avoid Madness with Yogurt and Sushi

  1. yay! It was great to meet you yesterday!

    I never even thought to get sushi at Publix.. great idea when you're in the mood for something fast and delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

