Sunday Blessings – More than Salvation

I put off writing my Sunday post first thing this morning, mostly because I was needing a little inspiration.

How about some blueberry ricotta pancakes for inspiration? Those would have been nice, but breakfast actually came in the form of magically delicious Lucky Charms and an apple (the pancakes made an even more magically delicious dinner last week). 
Anyway, I figured some hymn-singing, Bible verse-reading, sermon-listening time at church would give me the inspiration I actually needed to write today. 
And I was right!
“For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home.”
-Matthew 25:35
Our preacher gave a very thought-provoking sermon about how life as a Christian is so much more than our own salvation. It’s about seeing God in every person and giving what we can to help the hungry, and the thirsty, and the homeless. God does not judge us based on how often we go to church or how much we spend time reading the Bible (although those things are important too), but He pays closer attention to how we “walk the walk” and serve others. 

Are you one of those who are hungry? ‘Cuz you can have some toast and eggs with me! (Over-easy eggs with toast are my current favorite breakfast.)
And cupcakes. You know I can always provide some cupcakes!
In all seriousness though, our preacher’s words made me think about how I can do a better job of seeing God in others. The sermon also touched on materialism and how so many earthly things can get in the way of what we really need to focus on. I have said it before, but I’ll say it again. I am so blessed to have everything I do and to be able to live as comfortably as I do. I know it is time I step-up and make more of an effort to recognize God in the hungry and homeless. No matter how much or little I have, I can always afford to give in one way or another. 
And with that I say, have a great rest of your Sunday!
2 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – More than Salvation

Leave a Reply

