Brown Sugar Coconut Chocolate Cake Bars

Mmmmm chocolate. 

Not just chocolate. But brown sugar and coconut too. 
So many flavors! While they might seem like a random combination, you might be surprised at how well they all tasted together. Trust me, I realize how random it sounds. It all just happened so fast and before I knew it, this is what I came up with. 
I didn’t hate it. Not oneeee bit.

I made these cake bars a few weeks ago to bring to a get-together at a friend’s house. In fact, it was several weeks ago now, because it was before Lent had started. Before my chocolate deprivation had started. I have never craved chocolate more in my life. And looking at these bars again is only making it worse! 
If I can’t make them for myself, you should make them for yourself. At least one of us will get to enjoy the cakey goodness.
Brown Sugar Coconut Chocolate Cake Bars
(Adapted from Funfetti Cake Bars, adapted from Six Sisters’ Stuff)
Makes about 16 bars
Ingredients:
1 box chocolate cake mix
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
2/3 cup vanilla
1/2 teaspoon coconut extract 
1/4 cup brown sugar, for topping
1/4 cup chocolate sprinkles, for topping
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare 9×9 inch cake pan by coating with nonstick spray.
2. In a medium/large bowl, prepare cake mix by beating together cake mix, oil and egg. Slowly beat in milk until just combined (batter will be thick). Pour batter into pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until cake begins to pull away from edges of pan.
3. While cake is baking, mix frosting and coconut extract in a small bowl until well combined.
3. Remove cake from oven when finished. Let cool in pan. Frost and top with brown sugar and sprinkles. 
Leave a Reply

