Banana Nut French Toast

Did you make the overnight oats I shared with you yesterday yet? If you haven’t, that’s okay. Just save that for next week when you need something quick and easy before heading out the door early in the morning. Weekends call for something a little more indulgent. A little more…delicious.

Like this Banana Nut French Toast. 
In the survey I took earlier this week, I predicted french toast was in my future for dinner. Once the thought entered my mind, I couldn’t let it go! Usually I ask Greg what we should have for dinner. That night, I told him, “I’m making myself french toast. Want some? You’re either with me or against me!”

Needless to say, he was with me on this one. 

Smart man.
Banana Nut French Toast

Makes about 2 servings
Ingredients:
4 slices whole wheat bread
3 eggs
Splash of milk
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 whole bananas, sliced
1/4 cup pecan halves or pieces
Syrup as desired
Directions:
1. In a small bowl, combine eggs, milk and cinnamon. Whisk until eggs are beaten.
2. Heat large skillet to medium-low. Once heated, dip bread (one slice at a time) into the egg mixture to coat completely. Immediately add to skillet. Cook about 1-2 minutes, flip and cook another 1-2 minutes. Remove from skillet and keep warm in oven set to 250 degrees if necessary. Repeat with remaining bread slices. 
3. Once all bread has been toasted, turn off stovetop. Add sliced bananas and pecans to skillet while it is still warm. Use a spatula to gently move slices around. Let cook about 30 seconds, then flip banana slices over. Let cook about another minute then remove from skillet.
4. Layer french toast slices with bananas on plate. Top with pecans and syrup.
5. DIG IN!

2 thoughts on “Banana Nut French Toast

Leave a Reply

