Quick and Easy Breakfast – Overnight Oats

Oh boy, do I have a lot of recipes to share with you! I felt like I had nothing to share earlier this week, and all of a sudden I have almost more than I can handle.

Let’s take it slowly though, ok? Today I want to share an extremely easy recipe for an extremely easy breakfast. Have you heard of overnight oats? I have been reading about them on other blogs (most commonly Julie’s blog) and have always been curious to try them for myself. Somehow I didn’t realize that this magical breakfast doesn’t even require cooking until just earlier this week. Overnight oats are actually eaten cold.

With the temperature rising outside, this is a win-win for me. I love oatmeal, but find it difficult to eat a hot bowl of oatmeal when it’s hot outside. Especially when I work out in the mornings, I am usually still hot and sweaty when I eat breakfast. So hot oats aren’t so appealing. 
Overnight oats allow me to still get my oatmeal fix, but also have a cold, refreshing breakfast.

From what I have seen, these are usually made with a mixture of milk and yogurt. I don’t have any yogurt at the moment, so improvised with a little cottage cheese. I had mixed feelings after the first bite, but kept eating and realized I actually liked the concoction. A lot. 
Just like hot oatmeal, you can also add just about anything you like for some extra texture or flavor. Blueberries were my fruit of choice on this attempt. But I also see bananas and peanut butter in my future!

Fruity Overnight Oats

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:
1/2 cup dry oatmeal
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup cottage cheese
1/4 cup fruit of choice (blueberries, bananas, strawberries, etc.)

Directions:
1. The night before you plan to eat the oats, stir first three ingredients in a bowl (mix in fruit if desired, but note that they will be mushy in the morning). Cover bowl with plastic wrap and set in fridge overnight.
2. The next morning, stir all ingredients and add fruit as desired. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Quick and Easy Breakfast – Overnight Oats

Leave a Reply

