Funfetti Cake Bars

Last night I picked up Moe’s for dinner. Instead of chicken like I always get, I opted for tofu. Why? I don’t know. I think I thought it would save me a few calories after snacking on pralines and birthday cake at the office all day (Mmmm, that was good)! Well, that mistake will not happen again. I learned my lesson. Moe’s tofu=not good. It was unbelievably bland and I had to stop eating my “naked burrito” (no tortilla) half way through because it just wasn’t worth it. Then I discovered if I dipped the tortilla chips in peach salsa (from Trader Joe’s, not Moe’s), then dipped that into my bowl to get some beans, rice and pico, that it actually made for a good meal. Bland/tasteless/boring/unsatisfying dinner disaster averted. 
If only I had a Funfetti Cake Bar leftover from the weekend for dessert. That would make it even better. I mentioned on Sunday that I had made a dessert while my mom and step-dad were here that I would be sharing. Now is the time. Are you excited?
I have unintentionally been stock-piling boxed cake mixes for the past year or so (by stock-piling I mean I have about 6-7 boxes…so not too bad actually. But more than I need or ever use). I came across a recipe using Funfetti mix that I knew would be great. After all, can you really go wrong with Funfetti? I think not.
Rather than following the ingredients listed on the box, modifying them to what is shown in the recipe below results in a dense, chewy cookie texture. 

The thin layer of frosting and sprinkles adds a bit more sweetness and makes them extra cute too (which is just as important). 
These didn’t long at all. 

Seriously though, are you at all surprised? 
Funfetti Cake Bars
(Adapted from Six Sisters’ Stuff)
Ingredients:
For the bars-
1 box Funfetti cake mix
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/3-1/2 cup frosting 
1/4 cup sprinkles
For the frosting-
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 9×9 inch pan with nonstick spray and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, combine cake mix, oil and egg. Add milk, a little at a time. 
3. Pour into pan and bake 25-30 minutes, or until edges just become brown and pull away from the pan. Be careful not to over-bake.
4. Let cool completely then frost and top with sprinkles.
To prepare the frosting, combing all ingredients in a medium bowl. Mix with whisk or spoon until well-incorporated. Add more powdered sugar to thicken if needed.


2 thoughts on “Funfetti Cake Bars

Leave a Reply

