Nut ‘n Berry Salad

Has anyone else ever noticed that a standard package of bagged salad contains about two to three servings? Woah. That’s a lot of lettuce for one sitting. Most of the time when I eat a salad at home, it’s just a small bowl serving as a side dish to my main meal. When I do have salad as my main course though, I still have a hard time using half of a bag. I have been working on one particular bag of fresh spinach every day for a good week and still have some left. Two servings? I think not. I like a good salad, but what they (salad-packing people) call a serving is more than I can handle. 
I am determined to finish it before it goes bad, so I got creative and made a dressed up salad for lunch and dinner a couple times this week to get through it quickly. 

I tried slightly different variations each time, but this is my favorite. Nut and berries. One of my favorite granola bars is Nature Valley’s Chewy Trail Mix Fruit and Nut bar. I love the crunchy nuts with the sweet fruit and those were key factors in this salad.

Scroll to the bottom for the recipe 😉
A week full with spinach salads is actually not as bad as it sounds as long as you have the right toppings!
It also isn’t too bad if your boss buys you Moe’s in the middle of the week to spontaneously switch things up. 
I guess this kind of looks like a salad too, but don’t let the small handful of shredded lettuce on top fool you. There was plenty of rice, chicken sauteed veggies, black beans and pico in that bowl. Lettuce? Not so much of that.
I’m already predicting that my body will be ready for a light salad come Monday. My mom and step dad are in town for the weekend, meaning a lot of eating out! Especially since my mom never fails to have a couple of restaurant Groupons saved for her Charleston trips. It’s also the weekend for the Charleston Wine and Food Festival. I’m too poor to afford that at this point in my life, but that doesn’t mean we can’t have our own wine and food festival all weekend!
What are you guys up to?
Nut ‘n Berry Salad
Makes one salad
Ingredients:
2-3 cups fresh spinach leaves
5 medium strawberries, sliced in half
2 tablespoons walnut halves or pieces
2 tablespoons sliced red onion
2 tablespoons raspberry vinaigrette 
Directions:
1. Add spinach to plate or large bowl. Top with strawberries, walnuts, onion and vinaigrette. 
2.. Gently toss to combine all ingredients.
3. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

