Bacon Egg and Cheese McMuffins

I couldn’t tell you the last time I ordered something from McDonald’s. That is fine with me, because I really want as little to do with it as possibly anyway. Whenever I hear the stories about people leaving a McDonald’s burger out for years and years and the food barley changes in look, it makes me want to eat a fresh green salad, extra veggies please.

I was the princess of 6-piece Chicken McNuggets with sweet and sour sauce when I was a kid. Princess, I tell ya. And then there were the Sausage and Egg McMuffins which were pretty delish, until the McGriddles came along. OMG, sooo good on the tongue. But then I felt like I was going to have a heart attack after eating one. Not so good.

Now that my Mickey-D’s days are past me, I find myself missing those classic breakfast sandwiches. Every once in awhile I’ll make breakfast sandwiches on bread or bagels. After making Biscuits and Gravy this weekend, I was left with some spare biscuits. Perfect for a McDonald’s remake without the guilt…or heart attack.

These add up to about 330 calories, which is about 100 cals less than McDonald’s. This is a little more than I normally like to have for breakfast during the week, but not unreasonable by any means. Plus, you know exactly what you’re eating with these homemade variety, whereas with McDonald’s who knows what you’re putting in your body. Not me. And I don’t really want to know. 
I like making my breakfast sandwiches with egg, cheese and any combination of ham, sausage or bacon. 
Ba-da-da-da-da…I’m lovin’ it! 
Bacon Egg and Cheese McMuffins
(Inspired by McDonald’s)
Makes 2 sandwiches
Ingredients:
2 biscuits
2 slices bacon (or more if desired)
2 eggs
2 ounces cheddar cheese, sliced
Pepper to taste
Directions:
1. Cook bacon according to package directions until crispy. 
2. While bacon is cooking, heat another skillet over medium-low heat. Add eggs to a small bowl and whisk. Pour into heated skillet. Let cook about one minute. Scrap spatula around the edges to loosen egg from the sides. Fold egg mixture in half on top of itself (like an omelet). Continue cooking another minute, flip and cook one more minute. Cut in egg mixture in half. Season with pepper. 
3. Split biscuits in half. Add half of the cooked egg to each biscuit, top with an ounce of the cheese, then bacon. Press down top half of biscuit. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Bacon Egg and Cheese McMuffins

  1. These are one of my favorite foods ever!! And making them at home makes me feel so much less guilty than buying them at McDonald's. Also I made your pop tarts with my family. They were a big hit. We ended up just topping them with butter and no icing, yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

