Sunday Blessings – Finding the Beauty

Wow, is it almost 4 o’clock already? Approaching dinnertime on a Sunday only means one thing…the weekend is almost over! Tear 😦

It’s been a good one and I hate to see it go. I much rather prefer being optimistic than pessimistic though, so here is a pleasant thought as the weekend wraps up:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” -Joshua 1:9

Okay, okay. I know that the end of the weekend is nothing to be “terrified” about. Slightly discouraging maybe, but not terrifying. Regardless, people often complain of having “the case of the Mondays” on that first day back at work and dwell on the fact that it isn’t the weekend anymore. But God promises to be with us wherever we go and whenever we need him (and even when we don’t think we need him).

The start of the week is no different. It may be a time of readjusting to a busy schedule of workouts, office meetings, deadlines, etc., but think of how much harder it would be without God by our sides.

Sometimes we are forced to find the good in time and places we might not imagine possible. Like a car wash. Flowers, like my Valentine’s flowers still hanging on for dear life, are pretty without even trying. But a car wash isn’t something you would call “pretty,” right? 
Greg and I took my car to one of those drive-through washes at the gas station yesterday. I just had to get a picture of the “polish” that was sprayed all over my car. It was so pretty!
I wish it didn’t have to be washed off, although that would make it hard to see…
Anyway, my point is that I was definitely not expecting the five-minute wash to be anything “pretty.” Not that I was dreading it, but getting a car was is more of a chore than anything. Then the colorful spray/polish/whatever it was, came shooting out and I was like a kid in a candy store. 
It really wasn’t a big deal, but I thought it was fun and definitely made the car wash more exciting. 

Whether you are picking flowers or going through a car wash, whether you are enjoying a relaxing weekend or busy at work, God is with you and you can always find beauty in that.

One thought on “Sunday Blessings – Finding the Beauty

Leave a Reply

