Sunday Blessings – Inspired by Technology

While cooking dinner last night, my brother Austin called to ask me where I get my recipes. I listed off a few of my favorite blogs and suggested Google as well. He informed me I haven’t made what HE wants me to make yet on my blog, so he needed to turn to another source for the information.

It’s true, he does know how to make something I don’t: Haystacks. Ever had them? They are chinese noodles coated with a melted peanut butter and butterscotch mix and clumped together.

See? They look just like haystacks, right? This is what Austin sent me right after making them and threatened me to share them with you today. So here ya go!
Austin had made these several times growing up, and I do like them a lot, but I also always forget about them. I might just have to give them a try, and maybe add my own flair. Then Austin can use my recipes on the blog more frequently ūüôā
Isn’t it amazing how we can so easily “google” something and instantly find a recipe, or snap a picture on a phone and send it hundreds of miles away to another phone? Technology can drive me crazy if I think about it too much, but I am so¬†grateful¬†for the work it can do for us.
God has blessed certain people with the intelligence and supplies to create these once unimaginable things like cell phones, picture messaging, the internet, etc. The list goes on and on and it’s only going to get longer.¬†
Genesis 11:6 says:

“And the Lord said, ‘Behold, they are one people, and they have all one language, and this is only the beginning of what they will do. And nothing that they propose to do will now be impossible for them.’ “

God put this sense of, “you can do anything you set your mind to,” in all of us. We all have at least¬†some sense of self-motivation, determination and desire to be better. This keeps the human race as a whole improving and evolving. We push ourselves and each other to be better.

I typically like to workout by myself. Notice I said typically, so there are those rare times where I enjoy a running partner or someone lifting weights with me. But normally I don’t like talking while running, I can’t form sentences while I’m out of breath anyway! And I just like to do my own thing.
But even when I think I am “alone” while working out, I almost always have headphones in and music playing in my ears. If I am inside, the TV is usually on as well. Music motivates me through my runs and sometimes even pushes me through an extra mile.¬†
Music, just like the internet and cell phones, is one technology I am thankful for. Music has obviously been around forever, but if it wasn’t for the radio in my car, or Pandora streaming through my TV (new discovery for Greg and I on our TV!) then I wouldn’t be able to enjoy music like I can with these technologies.¬†
I love listening to His Radio (the Christian station in Charleston) every day on my drive to and from work. It puts me in the best mood in the mornings and if I am exhausted from a long day at work, it never fails to bring me back to that good mood at night. 
I could tell you 948504 more reasons why I am so blessed for technology in my life, but this post is already getting quite long as it is and I have to get going to church. 
I hope you all have a great day! If you get to communicate with someone across the country or are inspired by a song on the radio, give a quick thanks to He who has provided us with the skills to make it possible. 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Blessings – Inspired by Technology

  1. I never thought I would see the day where I had something I made on your blog! Thanks for putting it on there I love it! They are so yummy Franceska liked them too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

