Breakfast Creativity

What did I have for dinner last night, you ask?

BFD!

It’s been awhile since I’ve had big ole plate of pancakes and bacon for dinner. Oh how I’ve missed thee.

I have to say, the Whole Wheat Banana Bread Pancakes (recipe via How Sweet It Is here) I made last night were not quite as good as some of my others, like these Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes or these Pumpkin Pancakes. That’s not to say they weren’t good, but just not my favorite. And that’s okay.

Sometimes you just need to change things up and try something new. Do you need to try something new with your breakfast (or breakfast-for-dinner rather)?

Here are a few ideas to incorporate different flavors into every breakfast-lovers favorites: Pancakes, French Toast and Waffles!

Pumpkin pancakes from a mix. 
It doesn’t get much simpler than making pancakes from a mix. You won’t be making the best pancakes ever, but pancakes from a mix can still be pretty decent. I’m not going to lie, I pretty much grew up on Bisquick pancakes. And I enjoyed them. Add a little fruit or chocolate chips to kick it up a notch if you’d like. Or find a flavored mix like this pumpkin spice one. 
Strawberry Stuffed pancakes.
A few years ago (maybe even a several years now), stuffed pancakes starting popping up in breakfast restaurants everywhere. I’m pretty sure stuffed french toast came first, but whoever decided it would be a good idea to stuff pancakes is brilliant. Being far from healthy, I avoid ordering stuffed pancakes for myself. Meaning I take a few bites from those who do order them! 
One time, I tried making my own version at home and they turned out great…not to mention much healthier than the restaurant kind. I basically used my plain Fluffy Buttermilk Pancake recipe and layered non-fat strawberry yogurt and freshly sliced strawberries between each one. Add a scoop of whipped cream on top and you are set. Seriously. You don’t even need syrup with this one. Ok…maybe a little syrup. But the yogurt adds most of the moisture you need. 
Apple Cinnamon French Toast. 
Not much of a pancake person? That’s okay…you’re crazy…but that’s okay. I love me some french toast too, although my sister Brooke takes the crown of French Toast Lover in our family. I like mixing in fruit to sweeten my breakfasts and add some nutritional value at the same time. Without berries on hand, I opted for sliced apples. I always add cinnamon to my french toast mix, but for this toast you can’t be shy with the cinnamon. Mix it into the egg pre-dipping, and then sprinkle even more on top at the end. Notice I was on a whipped cream kick recently and added a scoop to the toast just like the pancakes. A little whipped cream never hurt anyone 🙂 
Red Velvet Waffles.
I wish I had a waffle recipe to share with you too, but that’s hard to do without a waffle iron. Here’s a little inspiration for you though. If you can make these for me I’ll be your best friend. 
Please share with me in the comments your favorite way to make pancakes, french toast or waffles. I’d love some new ideas!

One thought on “Breakfast Creativity

Leave a Reply

