Crab Cakes and Pudding

Hola, friends. How was your week? I only had a four-day workweek since I took Monday off to be at home in Columbus, but it felt longer than ever.

Before we go any further here, let me just clarify that the title of this post involves two SEPARATE dishes. They may sound gross when put together, but I promise it was nothing close to gross.

Greg has some family in town so we all met up for dinner at Uno Mas as soon as I got off work. I have been once before and was looking forward to try something else on the menu.

I normally don’t order any type of seafood from Mexican restaurants, but with a successful shrimp quesadilla last time, I took a chance and ordered the crab cakes that were on special for the night. The two cakes were served with a side of Mexican rice and a small salad. I really enjoyed my meal, especially the crab cakes.

By the time we got home for dinner, I was ready for dessert! I bought some ‘Nilla Wafers and bananas the other day after seeing banana pudding recipes all over the place recently. With the Banana Cream Jell-O Pudding Mix that I have had for months now, I was all set.

The recipes I had seen in magazines used made-from-scratch pudding, but since I already had the boxed mix on hand, I opted for the easy route. 

I love a nice creamy dessert and this definitely fulfilled that craving. Since I used the sugar-free mix and reduced fat wafers, this dish was extra light too. 

I will not be forgetting about this simple, sweet dessert anytime soon.
Banana Pudding
(Adapted from Jell-O package recipe)
Makes 3-4 servings
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups milk (I used skim)
1 package Banana Cream Jell-O Pudding mix (I used sugar-free)
1 1/2 bananas, sliced
16 ‘Nilla Wafers
1/2 cup light whipped cream
Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, whisk milk and pudding mix for about two minutes. Let sit at least 2-3 minutes to allow to thicken.
2. In a separate bowl, place a layer of 8 wafers on the bottom. Top with alternating layers of sliced bananas and pudding. Add remaining 8 wafers on top, then spread whipped cream on top of that. 
3. Refridgerate at least 30 minutes. 

One thought on “Crab Cakes and Pudding

Leave a Reply

