Crispy Chicken Fingers

Once again, we have made it to the end of the week! I’m especially excited because I have been extra busy at work and was starting to get too stressed out for my own good. But now the weekend is in sight and I have nothing but a smile on my face.

Another reason to smile? Crispy breaded chicken fingers.

Of course you can get delicious breaded chicken anywhere- Chick-Fil-A, Zaxby’s, Cane’s, etc. But I have such a hard time letting myself eat three or four chicken fingers, or a whole chicken sandwich, without thinking about how much I just ruined my efforts to eat well. Like I always say, moderation is key, but even still, just a few chicken fingers will set me back at least two-thirds of my days calories…factor in breakfast and lunch and all of a sudden I don’t have room for dessert! (Well, we know that’s not true!)
Making homemade chicken fingers lets you control exactly how much oil and bread you use with your chicken. 
Instead of greasy fries that chicken restaurant usually serve with the entree, I served my chicken fingers with about half a plateful of steamed broccoli. 
I kept these babies simple, since I didn’t have much experience breading and frying the chicken. But now that I am more comfortable doing it, I will definitely spice these fingers up to make them more flavorful in the future. 
Breaded Chicken Fingers
Makes about 3-4 servings (16-18 fingers)
Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts, cut into long, thin slices
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 egg, beaten
1 cup panko breadcrumbs 
3-4 tablespoons vegetable oil
Directions:
1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-low heat.
2. Meanwhile, begin breading chicken by dipping each piece in flour, then egg, then coat in breadcrumbs. Set pieces aside until all have been coated (they will cook relatively quickly so you don’t want to be dipping/coating and have to watch the chicken at the same time! *I learned the hard way)
3. Once all chicken pieces are coated, place in even layer in skillet. Cook until browned on one side, about 2-3 minutes. Flip to opposite side and continue to fry until cooked through, about another 3-4 minutes.
4. Remove from skillet and serve immediately with ketchup (or sauce of choice: BBQ, ranch, honey, etc.)

One thought on “Crispy Chicken Fingers

Leave a Reply

