Guilt-Free Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

I am so happy to say that my baking game is back. After a bit of a drought over the holidays with all of the traveling, I am back in my element and looooooving it. 
Plus, I had all of these new fun toys!
Cupcake apron, cupcake oven mits and the cutest new measuring spoons. Not to mention the shiny white Kitchen Aid just waiting to be played with (does anyone know how HEAVY those are, by the way? OMG I had no idea). 
Last week I bought blueberries. But these were just just any blueberries. They were probably the best blueberries I have ever tasted. When I started browsing my recipe collection for something to bake, I knew I wanted to incorporate these. 
Annie’s Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins sounded perfect!
Thankfully I only made half of a batch or else I would have eaten all 12 in one sitting. 
I love baked goods with oatmeal, because it adds so much texture. And like I said, these were the best blueberries ever. Baking them only made them plumper and juicier.

Top them with a little butter if you want, and I admit butter never really hurts the flavor, but they really don’t even need it. If you’re looking for a healthier muffin, skip the butter and you won’t miss a thing. The whole wheat flour, oats and berries make this one guilt-free treat.
Find the recipe for Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins on Annie’s Eats here. The only change I made was using skim milk instead of buttermilk, because that was all I had on hand. 
Leave a Reply

