Warm Apple Crisp

Good morning! 
Well, that is if you can call a Monday morning ‘good.’ You know what though, life has been great recently so I really can’t complain.
After the apple cobbler dessert from the cooking class Greg and I took this weekend, we were craving some more apple goodness. I have been stock piling recipes for so long now that before I looked up another one, I wanted to knock out one from the list. After just a couple minutes of recipe skimming, I found the one. 

I already had all ingredients on hand, although now my apple-snacking addiction will have to suffer for a couple of days until I make it back to the grocery store for more. Again, I really can’t complain. As much as I love cold, crisp apples, when they are warm, cinnamon-y and topped with ice cream they are even better. 
You could make this with pretty much any other fruit…blueberries, blackberries, peaches, or a combination of a few. 
Something like this would turn that Monday morning frown upside down in a jiffy.
Apple Crisp
(Adapted from My Baking Addiction)
Makes 2 large or 4 small servings
Ingredients:
For the fruit base-
4 small apples, diced (about 2 cups)
2 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon flour
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
For the topping-
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon old fashioned oats
1/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease 8×8 inch baking pan. 
2. In a medium bowl, make the base by combining sugars, flour and cinnamon. Add diced apples and toss all ingredients until apples are evenly coated with dry ingredients. Pour apple mixture into baking pan in an even layer.
3. In a separate bowl, combine first four ingredients for the topping mixture. Mix melted butter and vanilla then pour into dry ingredients. Mix together with a fork until all ingredients are moistened. Crumble topping mixture over the apples in the pan. 
4. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool about five minutes, and serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Drizzle with caramel sauce if desired. 

2 thoughts on “Warm Apple Crisp

  1. I wish I could wake up to the smell of your kitchen on a day like today…..warm apple crisp! I won't put this recipe away before I try it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

