Sunday Blessings – Life in the Lowcountry

It’s been a few weeks since I have been able to write a post on Sunday, since holiday traveling got in the way. Now that I am back to a fairly regular schedule, I wanted to make and extra effort to dedicate my Sunday posts to my “blessings.”

As fun as traveling and visiting family can be, it is always nice to return home, unpack the suitcase and get back on a normal schedule. You can say I am more than thankful for normalcy. Anyone that knows me knows how much of a planner I am. I make lists and plan everything. If I am bored, I will try to make a list of something. Or write out the next days schedule. I even typically have most of my meals planned for at least two or three days in advance. I know this might seem crazy to some people and can cause more stress in the long run for myself if my plan doesn’t go like it’s supposed to, but just having a better idea of how I will be spending my time puts me at ease. Nerd? Yes. Cray-cray? Yes. I’m okay with these descriptions about myself.

After this past full week of work after such a long vacation, I was more than ready for this weekend. I was really looking forward to yesterday, because Greg and I were attending a cooking class downtown as part of his Christmas gift to me!

There were 12 people in the class and we divided up into small groups to make each of the dishes for our “Taste of the Lowcountry” lunch. We were allowed to decide which dish we wanted to be in charge of, so you might think I would head straight to the dessert: Apple cobbler topped with a cinnamon sugar biscuit (sounds amazing, huh?). Well, I definitely thought about it, but I already saw two women heading that way. Instead of having a cat fight over it, I thought it would be fun to try the main dish: Pork rib sandwiches. 
I can make apple cobbler in my kitchen at home anytime, so I wanted to take advantage of the stove-top grill in the “classroom.” Plus, this would be a little more challenging than baking, which I do much more often. 

Some of the other dishes the class made were sesame slaw, warm butter bean and shrimp salad…

…Pimento macaroni and cheese…
…And finally that dessert I told you about, apple cobbler. 
It was all SO good. I couldn’t choose just one favorite. But the ribs, bean and shrimp salad and apple cobbler were at the top of my list. Another great part of the lunch was the wine. I was not expecting that, and we were only served a small (I mean SMALL) glass. Most people didn’t even drink theirs. Are they crazy? Pass it my way please. Jusssttt kidding. It wasn’t even barley noon. But the white wine went with all of the food so well. 
In addition to making the food and learning a few new cooking tips from the instructor, she also gave us background on most of the foods and how they came to be popular “lowcountry” foods. I feel so blessed to live in such an amazing city with unique foods, and more importantly, a strong appreciation for those foods. 
Of course I am more thankful for my boyfriend who got me such a thoughtful gift that we got to participate in together, doing what I love most. 
I hope you all have a happy Sunday! 

One thought on “Sunday Blessings – Life in the Lowcountry

  1. Your great-grandmother, Mamanon, planned meals 5 days at a time. It was great growing up looking forward to pasta nights and even one night 'leftovers'. So yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

