A Sweet Post

No, I’m not being conceited about my blogging skills, because when I look at blogs like this, this and this, I realize I have a lot to work towards in my blogging career.

And I don’t mean “sweet” as in dessert either, although that would be nice. Because I’m pretty sure I am  overdue for some cupcakes. I’m counting them and I have zero, okay? (Sorry about that… we’ll fix it soon enough)

What I’m referring to is my (not-so-new) obsession with sweet potatoes!
When sweet potatoes were on sale around Thanksgiving (I promise that’s the last time I’ll mention Thanksgiving until next year for at least a few months) for $.39/pound, I went kinda crazy. Then, I didn’t even use a single. one. UGH. 
What’s a girl to do with three pounds of potatoes laying around? 
Make sweet potato hash browns for BFD (that’s breakfast for dinner, remember?)
…And bake a potato with BBQ turkey and green beans on the side.

…And bake another potato with garlic asparagus on the side. 
I have discovered that topping sweet potatoes with cinnamon is a great calorie-free alternative to excessive butter and brown sugar (you still have to use a little though). Try it. Mmm, mmm!
This isn’t the first time you’ve read about my love for sweet potatoes. I knew I loved them when I made these sweet potato fries, and I fell in love even more with the first bite of these sweet potato pancakes. I am still waiting for the day I can try a sweet potato doughnut.
I am happy to announce that Greg and I (emphasis on I) finally ate our way through the potatoes! I can’t believe we did it. As good as everything was, I am a little disappointed that I didn’t use some of them to make a dessert, so it looks like I will have to buy more. 
Cupcakes are in my very near future. 
Leave a Reply

