Sunday Blessings – Waiting Patiently

Now that Thanksgiving is over, I am completely in the Christmas spirit! I love it. I even told Greg this morning that “I just want it to get cold and stay cold!” That is crazy talk for me. I get cold so easily and stayed here in the south for a reason! But, Christmas isn’t Christmas without chilly, jacket-wearing, boot-stomping, see-your-breath-in-the-air weather. And as much as I normally do not like the cold, I am ready for it to come and stay for a while.

While I was sad to see my family go this weekend, I know Thanksgiving is only the beginning of the holiday season and there is so much more to come!

I only wish I could decorate our tiny condo with a tree like this (This is Greg’s family tree from a few years ago). We are going shopping later today for a small one. It might be reminiscent of Charlie Brown’s tree, but it will be better than nothing!

The sermon at church this morning was all about how today, the start of advent, is our (Christians) period of waiting for Christ to come on Christmas day. We need to be patient during this time, but instead of waiting quietly and idly, we should use this waiting period to serve God by serving others.

While it is easy to get caught up in the shopping, traveling and stressing over the holidays, I need to remember to make this time about the one who gave it all to us in the first place.

This week I am praying for patience through these weeks leading up to Christmas and for God to show me how I can better serve Him during this time.

What are you most looking forward to this holiday season?

One thought on “Sunday Blessings – Waiting Patiently

Leave a Reply

