Thanksgiving Spirit with Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Ok, I’m not going to pretend I have been the best source for Thanksgiving Day ideas or recipes lately. Well guess what? I may have not been cooking much Thanksgiving food in preparation for the holiday, but I think if you tried just a bite of one of these cookies you would forgive me. These make up for every non-Thanksgiving food post I have made over the past couple of weeks. 
Here, let me take a bite for you.
Feel better now? I do.
I would bet to say that cookies are not at the top of anyone’s T-day dessert list. It’s all about the P-I-E! Apple pie, pumpkin pie, sweet potato pie, pecan pie. Some of you probably even have pumpkin rolls and cheesecakes. But cookies? Yeahhhh…not so much. 
Well this year you may just want to consider throwing cookies into the mix. These extra soft and chewy cookies are fabulouso. That’s Spanish for fabulous. No, not really. I don’t think so anyway. 
Of course we all know that eating until you are literally stuffed and cannot eat another bite is just part of what it means to be Thanksgiving Day. No matter how full you are from the seconds, thirds and fourths that you have already eaten from the turkey and side dishes, you HAVE to have dessert. These cookies are a great alternative to large slices of pie. You can still indulge in a sweet pumpkin-y dessert without too much extra stretching of your stomach 😉
…That is to say if you can only just eat one. Because remember Greg, the guy who doesn’t find half the pleasure I do in anything sweet? Well, he had FOUR of these in one sitting. Very unlike him. Like, totally and completely unlike him. 
You might be best off just taking a whole plate back to the couch with you after dinner. Make yourself comfortable and enjoy every single fluffy bite. 
I used this recipe from Annie’s-Eats. The only thing I changed was with the sugar coating mixture. I eliminated the ginger and allspice (only because I didn’t have any), and added about 1/8 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. 
Despite the rainy, cloudy skies today, my family is here and we are going to have a great couple of days! First on the list we need to pick up our race packets for the Turkey Day Run 5K that is tomorrow morning! Eeek! I’m a litte nervous because I want to do well, but since I’ve never done it, I know it will be a fun experience regardless. Then we need to do some last minute grocery shopping. Hopefully it’s not a zoo at the store. 
Have a great Thanksgiving Eve!!
One thought on “Thanksgiving Spirit with Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

  1. I can attest these cookies are the best! So light and yet 'cake' like. I even got a frosted one and still felt like I was cheating 'Mother Calorie'! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

