Boyfriend-Approved Sauteed Brussel Sprouts

Do you like vegetables? I like vegetables. As much as I love my cupcakes and dessert in general, I can definitely appreciate a plateful of sauteed or roasted veggies any day of the week. As long as it’s not too big of a plate 😉 
Sometimes I think I could be a vegetarian. But then I realize that is just crazy. What am I thinking? Especially with Thanksgiving coming up. I need that turkey in my belly! And honey-glazed ham. Any chicken is one of my favorite things to cook. But seriously, there are plenty of vegetarian meals that are just as satisfying as meat-filled meals. Veggies, beans, eggs and potatoes can make great dishes. Something like this without the chicken would still be delicious. But I think it’s only natural, and healthy, that humans eat meat. And I’m not going to mess with nature. 
The other night I had to skip the meat and stick with the veggies. I did have chicken in the freezer, but for some reason I despise thawing meat. I don’t know what bothers me so much about it, but I really hate that task. With fresh brussel sprouts in the fridge and a sweet potato calling my name, I came up with a great meal.
After getting the potato in the oven to bake, I got to work with the brussel sprouts. I love the texture of brussel sprouts. When cooked, they are crunchy, yet tender and dense (I think that accurately describes them??). 
They say vegetables are best in their raw state. Who is “they” anyway? Health experts, I guess. That might be true, but I like to think that by adding a healthy amount of olive oil, onions and garlic, my brussel sprouts are even healthier! Who would eat a raw brussel sprout anyway? This is one vegetable that I would not want to eat raw.
The sprouts went perfectly with my baked sweet potato. Greg originally gave me a look of disgust when he saw me cooking the veggies, but after forcing him to try a bite, he actually approved! Since he hadn’t trusted me to begin with, he made himself something else for dinner. But I think in the future he will be joining me here.
Sauteed Brussel Sprouts
Makes 2 servings
Ingredients:
2 cups brussel sprouts, trimmed and halved
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1/2 medium yellow onion, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste
Directions:
1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. 
2. When hot, add onion and garlic. Stir and cook for about one minute. Add brussel sprouts and stir to evenly mix with onions and garlic. Let cook 3-4 minutes without stirring. 
3. As sprouts being to brown, add salt and pepper and stir frequently for another 5-6 minutes for even cooking.
4. Remove from heat and serve hot. 

Leave a Reply

