Not-So-White Pizza with Homemade Crust

Cupcakes are out and pizza is IN!
After the fun times (sarcasm, people, sarcasm) I had with cupcakes this weekend, I think it may be a little while until I make some again. Cupcakes and I need a break. I’m mad at them. 
Meanwhile, you can find me eating this pizza every. single. day.
Ok not quite every day, because it’s already gone. But I wish that weren’t the case. Greg and I both agreed this was better than DiGiorno and that’s hard to do. 

Greg has been dying to make his mom’s sourdough bread with a recipe passed down in his family for generations. We have had a large amount of sourdough starter sitting in our fridge for a couple of weeks now. We have made three or four loaves of bread. It has been quite the experiment and had to throw away some, but I think Greg finally got it right. 
Anyway, I was thinking of other things we could make with the starter and pizza crust was the first thing that came to mind. I have made homemade pizza on pita bread and tortillas, but never on a homemade crust. I realize sourdough isn’t your typical pizza base, but pizza on any kind of crust is yum in the tum. 

I made a few pizza crusts in 9-inch round cake pans. The crust turned out thick, chewy and simply perfect. 
I set up a pizza building station on our counter so Greg and I could each make our pizza just how we liked it. I stole the idea from Thom, my step dad. We used to do this when I was younger. It is always so fun to “decorate” a blank canvas of pizza crust and compare what you make to others. 
I topped mine (as seen in the first two pictures of this post) with a couple brushes of olive oil, fresh mozzarella, caramelized onions, pieces of ham, pineapple chunks, and a small handful of shredded mozzarella on top. Finally I sprinkled some Italian blend spices on top. I love a good white pizza, but I don’t know if it exactly counts when I add red and yellow toppings? So it’s a “not-so-white pizza.”
Greg started with a tomato sauce base, then added caramelized onions, pineapple, bacon, and shredded mozzarella.
For the third pizza, we combined our two ideas and topped it with tomato sauce, onions and pineapple. We named this the “community” pizza, because it was ours to share. Even though I let Greg have most of it for a leftover lunch the next day. I’m so nice. And I still had half of my white pizza, so it was not big deal 😉
Both of ours were awesome, but I liked mine more 🙂 I have included the recipe for mine below. 
Not So White Pizza
Makes 3-4 servings, depending how much pizza you and your significant other can eat at a time
Ingredients:
2-9 inch pizza crusts, homemade or store bought (homemade recommended! See my recipe below)
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 ounces fresh mozzarella, sliced thinly
1/2 cup sliced onions, caramelized
1/2 cup pineapple, cut into chunks
2/3 cup ham, cut into chunks
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
2 teaspoons Italian blend seasoning
2 teaspoons hot sauce, for topping
Directions:
1. Prepare crust (if using homemade crust, use round cake pan for an even circular shape). Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Brush each crust with one tablespoon of olive oil. Top with fresh mozzarella, followed by onions, pineapple, ham and shredded mozzarella. Sprinkle with Italian seasonings evenly.
3. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until crust becomes a light golden brown and cheese is bubbly.
4. Remove from oven, top with hot sauce, slice and serve.
For the sourdough crust:

Makes 3-9 inch crusts
Ingredients:
1 cup sourdough starter
2-2.5 cups bread flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Generously spray 9-inch cake pans with nonstick spray.
2. Combine ingredients in a large bowl. Stir with wooden spoon until a soft dough is formed (you may have to use your hand).
3. Let the dough rest about 30 minutes. 
4. Divide dough into three equal parts. Press each section into round cake pans until dough is touching all edges of the pan. 
5. Pre-bake for about 5 minutes.
6. Top as desired (see recipe above) and bake again!

One thought on “Not-So-White Pizza with Homemade Crust

Leave a Reply

