Difficult Decisions

As I am sitting here typing (on Friday night), I am dealing with an internal dilemma most of us have probably come across before in our lives.

How the HECK should I eat this Oreo? Just take a bite as it is? Twist the cookies apart, eat the side without the cream first, then lick the cream off of the other side completely, and finally eat the remaining cookie? Dunk it in milk just long enough so it softens oh so perfectly?
Life can be so difficult, huh? You can see my Friday night was full of excitement.

It’s like the Reese’s saying: “There’s no wrong way to eat a Reese’s.” The only wrong way to eat an Oreo is to not eat it at all. 

Oreos really are good any way you eat them, but my indecisive self always ends up eating twice as many as I planned because I keep thinking the “other” way is better and need to do it that way next. 
I also can’t figure out which kind I like more….Regular or Golden. Obviously, Double Stuf is the only way to go. But when it comes to chocolate or vanilla I don’t think I can choose. They now have “triple-double” Oreos which is just insane.
(Photo from here)
And by insane I mean the best thing ever. I haven’t actually tried them yet, but it’s only a matter of time. There is one thing that could make it better: if one of the cookies was vanilla/”golden”. Then it really would be the best of both worlds.
Well, in the time it took me to discuss these Oreos, I have finished my helping and put them away. Moving right along.
I just want to take a few more minutes to discuss the other foodie highlights of my week.
Cream filled doughnuts might be one of my biggest weaknesses. Krispy Kreme’s sit at the top of my list, but I have nothing against Dunkin’s either. KK definitely wins when it comes to doughnuts overall, but even Dunkin’ has me still dreaming about this doughnut. Last weekend, I drug Greg into Dunkin’ with me so I could treat myself to cream filled heaven. A hot cup of hazelnut coffee to go along with it made it quite a nice morning. 
When I was younger and didn’t think for a split second about the food that ate, I would eat up to three cream filled doughnuts at once. Man, oh man. These days I have to skimp out on dessert for a week just to let myself have ONE. 
I enjoyed every last bite of that doughnut though, because many of my meals recently have been looking like this:
An Oven Roasted Chicken salad from Subway. Oh so good and so pretty I might add.
But that’s not all:
This Honey Pecan Chicken Salad-salad from Bistro 536 (with none other than raspberry vinaigrette) was an awesome lunch, thanks to my Groupon!
Salads can get boring after awhile, but at the same time it can be easy to keep them interesting (just see above for proof!). I am continually exploring new ways to put together a salad. Plus, when I eat platefuls of greens, it makes those cream filled doughnuts and Oreos so much more delicious.
What is your favorite kind of Oreo and how do you eat it?
What are your favorite salad toppings?
2 thoughts on “Difficult Decisions

  1. Weird as I am I don't eat Oreos but Wow, have I been enjoying pumpkin-cream roll these days!
    Salad dressing savvy I think I learned from this blog….most healthy are the vinaigrette or clearer dressings and now I avoid the creamy-nontransparent dressings. I haven't met a boring salad yet especially the ones you feature always rate winners!

    Like

Leave a Reply

