Heating Up with Spicy Chicken Chili

Today is a big day.
Involving a big pot of chili. 
With my reputation on the line.

This chili you see here is my ticket into our office’s Chili Cookoff tonight. I made a batch of this chicken chili last weekend, followed by a more traditional beef chili this past weekend. At first, I thought it would be safer to stick with a beef chili. But after comparing the two that I made, I knew the chicken had much more potential to win. It really was a.maze.ing. 

Greg and I were just about sweating with every bite. Not only because it’s spicy, but because temperature-wise, it was just so hot! As the days get cooler, chili has become my favorite way to warm up. If you are looking for a good chili recipe to help warm yourself up, this is it!
I still feel like I’m taking a risk entering the chicken chili into the competition, because I am expecting the other entries to be beef. My beef chili didn’t impress me though and to win I’ve got to take the risk. I could be wrong in this prediction, but if not, it just seems like it would be difficult to compare chicken to beef. 
Either way, I am praying for a win. 
Being an athlete almost all of my life, I can be very competitive. The only other cooking contest type-of-thing I have done was this past spring at one of Greg’s coworker’s house. My “deconstructed apple pies” won the prize for best amuse bouche! That was a proud moment for me, but I still don’t have much confidence. 

But if this chili is as good as Greg and I think it is, it’s going to be hard to beat!…Ok, so maybe I am a little confident 😉
Wish me luck!
Spicy Chicken Chili
(Adapted from Eat.Live.Run.)
Makes 6-8 servings
Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds chicken breast, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
20 ounces chicken stock
1 can (14.5 ounces) cannellini beans
1 can (14.5 ounces) pinto beans
1 can whole kernel corn
6 ounces canned chopped green chilis
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons chili powders
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons Italian blend seasoning (I used Thyme/Oregano blend)
3/4 cup half and half (I used fat free)
8 ounce sour cream (I used fat free), plus addition for topping
1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, for topping
Directions:
1. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. When hot, add chicken and onions. Cook for 5-7 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Add minced garlic and continue to cook for an additional 2-3 minutes.
2. Transfer chicken mix to a large pot over medium heat or a crock pot. Add chicken stock, beans, corn, chilis and seasonings to the pot and stir. Bring pot to a boil, then turn down heat. Allow chili to simmer for 30-35 minutes.
3. Turn off heat and add half and half and sour cream. Stir well until cream is completely incorporated. 
4. Serve hot and top with cheese and sour cream if desired.
2 thoughts on “Heating Up with Spicy Chicken Chili

  1. This recipe is a winner already in my book because I prefer the 'white' meat and I also enjoy cooking with a crock pot or slow cooker. End of story….cows would vote this a winner too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

